Wool, Wiltshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Unraveled Wednesday

Joining with Kat and the other unravelers here:-http://askatknits.com/2024/03/27/unraveled-wednesday-3-27-24/

Happily finished the blanket in time for my Big Knit group.

Thrilled that it was chosen to go onto the groups Facebook page.

I’m a bit tired of crochet blankets so I am now knitting a men’s hat ready for next Winter for the project. Not got far with it yet.

I’ve got two inches of ribbing to do before getting to the main body of the hat.

Reading wise, well Shirley by Charlotte Bronte is a bit of a struggle if I’m honest. Four chapters in and we’re still with curates, vicars and mill owners and the destruction of weaving looms.

So.. there’s a new to me TV series on at the moment with Richard E Grant called Write around the world, in which he visits different countries and talks about book set in the location he visits. I resisted the temptation to try to read all the books he featured, but this was one set in Italy, and looked the perfect foil to Shirley.

Bits of it strike me as rather familiar so I think I must have read it before but a long time ago before I started to record everything I read. Never the less I am enjoying it. It is a library book and I have ordered another two he mentions..but then my year long subscription for requests runs out next month and it will be back to reading books from my own shelves. The plot briefly- set in Italy in the 1950’s a young man Tom Ripley wants the good life, money, clothes, art, travel without having to have that boring thing called a job, and he doesn’t have any qualms about how he achieves his aims.

The TV series is currently broadcast on BBC4 and is also available on IPlayer.

I’ll be back on Friday with my photo challenge for this month- Fence and Post box.

Comments on: "Unraveled Wednesday" (16)

  1. Oh yes I enjoyed the movie The Talented Mr. Ripley and I bet the book will be interesting!
    The blanket looks wonderful, congratulations on the finish!

  2. What a great blanket! It is beautiful and looks so cozy 🙂 Your hat is also off to a good start!

  3. Going Batty in Wales said:

    That blanket is great and would be equally suitable for a man or woman which will make it easier for the charity to use. The programme sounds interesting too.

  4. Yep! Done it again out of 8 posts, well 7 if I’m honest because I caught sight of a blog name on one. I have an uncanny ability to pick your one photo. Must have read for a long time!
    Great blanket. Perfect border. Well deserved to be on the FB page.
    I recommend the Talented Mr Ripley film with that charmed English actor and the American guy who died fairly young.

  5. What an interesting TV series! Sounds very entertaining and right up my alley. I often try to read a book sit in the place where I’m visiting/traveling, either before or during a trip.

    One look at your cheery blanket and I thought you could crochet red and black checkers and have a game board/pieces AND a warm throw!

    Thanks for the honest update on Shirley. I hope it picks up a bit. In the book department….question for you. Do I understand correctly that you have to purchase a subscription in order to request books from your library?

  6. claire93 said:

    well done on another yarny finish! I’m having a crochet phase but will be back to knitting very soon.

  7. Well done on finishing the blanket it time – it certainly looks lovely enough to go on the group’s Facebook page :)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.