Wool, Wiltshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Divest-December

We have reached the year end review of our chosen words for 2023. Mine was Divest. I was in a bit of a bad way at the start of the year. Household maintenance, the unexpected, finding my way to somewhere, in fact anything that took me from my comfort space induced panic, sleep problems, anxiety etc. Added to which I was still living with far too much stuff. I needed to divest myself of this physical and mental baggage.

I really worked at this one, reading anything I thought might help, putting things into action, checking in here every month and receiving wonderful comments, suggestions and encouragement. I can honestly say that I am a different person now.

So what helped?

Sleep- I have pretty much given up caffeine. I don’t make a big deal about it, but at home I rarely drink it. My Nespresso machine is hardly used these days. I also experimented with liquid intake/ bedtime ..10.30pm is my ideal time. Although I have the occasional bad night, my norm is 7-8 hours unbroken sleep per night.

Understanding what causes me stress- The unexpected and having work done in the house. So I now have a list of seasonal routine maintenance tasks to do. Knowing I have done them helps. I have an increasing number of trusted tradespeople to call on. I have worked out ways to cope whilst the work is done..mostly creating a space I can craft in whilst the job is on going. Accepting that procrastination wasn’t my biggest issue but anticipation was..oh my it will be cold, the boiler will break, I won’t manage.. Turns out it did break, but not till months later when I didn’ expect it and I did of course cope..well the nice chap from British Gas did. And just phoning up a family member to say what happened and what I’d done really helped. Positive affirmation and all that.

Afterwards taking time to Rest and Recover. Crafting and reading was always my go to relaxation, but I now appreciate the value of sleep, and very recently I have found playing patience on the computer can really turn me around.

I tried walking with awe which didn’t really work in my immediate urban environment. But working in the garden did which has truly surprised me. Whenever I gardened before there was always someone telling me I was doing it wrong, either my Mum or my husband. I like cottage gardens, I like their haphazard appearance, I like wild flowers and vegetables in flower beds.They both preferred regimented flower borders..no weeds. Let loose on my own I loved being outside. And I had that courgette plant next to some dahlias. I really can’t wait for Spring. I have a few cabbages in mind for this year.

Another suggestion that didn’t do it for me, was to take my mind to a happy place, mostly because everywhere I thought of had memories of those I had lost. Much better was to think of places I’ve not been too that I’d like to go too. And make plans. My sister in law and I hope to go abroad next year. We’re planning on a part of Greece neither of us has visited, and to go in September because I found myself saying I didn’t want to go away when the garden would need attention. I can’t quite believe I uttered those words!

As to the physical stuff, yes a lot has gone. The utility room and a bedroom had a bit of a makeover. The garage clutter is decreasing..the problem there is still dividing the useful from the rubbish. I mean who knew I’d ever be helping a handyman clear a down pipe with an old tentpole from the garage. I have reached the stage though when I spot something I know I have no use for I find someone to give it away too. I’m getting there.

So there we are, a year of working towards less stuff and more positivity. I am truly grateful to my word this year, I am more at peace with myself and much happier. The question is what next? I think I have a new word to build on what happened this year and I’ll write about it next week. Meantime I’m linking this post to others who also had one word this year..https://youronewordblog.wordpress.com/2023/12/26/checking-in-12-23/

Comments on: "Divest-December" (29)

  1. You picked the perfect word for you for the year and you really made the most of it! Here’s to 2024 being even brighter and better 🙂

  2. Bravo to you! It was a great word for you… though challenging! But you persevered! I am so happy for you! I too have cut out the “afternoon cup of coffee” and my nights are much better for it. Once cup in the morning is all I have now… a good thing, I think! I am eager to see what new word you take with you in 2024. (Happy new year, my friend!)

  3. Huge Applause!!! Well done you, and all the best for 2024.

  4. Nanacathy

    I’m with you on “life moving faster than expected” – in mid October I took a 2 week “semi holiday” to a city 2 hours from Auckland. The idea was to think about whether I’d live her in the future. And unexpectedly I got the opportunity to move before I’d hardly returned home.
    Escalation meant, a huge downsize – there is certainly no room for a “tent pole” here – and so many other things to attend to. Although I was not selling my home, as I lived in a private rental but many boxes to tick leaving that one… I was sent a recommended “to do” pdf, most of which I did.

    I arrived here Dec 5 and there were still boxes to tick . some easier than others

    then out of the blue, my health slid sideways and now I’m on the slow boat to wellness…fortunately I’m not required to be Festive so that’s a saving grace. And I’m not expected to find a “word” for next year – possibly it will be “slowdown” 🙂

    Happy New Year to you, from Catherine in NZ

    • So sorry about your health issues especially as all you want to do is settle in. Just be kind and gentle to yourself. Hugs and best wishes for 2024.

  5. What a wrap! And what a full year with Divest. You have so much to celebrate. Finding oneself at peace and much happier—is there anything greater than that?!

    • So many people seem to have had problems in 2023. For me it was pretty Good after years and years of issues. Hoping I can keep going the same way in 2024.

  6. I am happy you will be finding joy in your garden doing it your way. Congrats on all the work you’ve done in 2023 on your goals. You are amazing!

  7. I loved reading this and so admire all the work you’ve done this year. I can’t wait to see what you choose next year, I’m sure it’ll be just as inspiring.

    • Thank you. Everyone has been kind and supportive. You have been inspirational through your knitting journey. I look forward to exploits next year.

  8. A lovely positive post Cathy, you’ve come a long way in the last twelve months so long may it continue, and a Happy New Year to you 🙂

    • That’s so kind of you. Your posts of your walks and historical researches have been truly inspirational and encouraged me to get out and about.

      • Thank you Cathy, that’s lovely of you to say so. I really enjoy doing historical research – and walking of course – so it’s nice to know that my posts are appreciated 🙂

  9. You have some unique and helpful tips! I especially like the one about thinking about the places you would like to go in the future. I have followed this series of posts eagerly all year; now I am looking forward to your word for 2024 too. 🙂

  10. Going Batty in Wales said:

    Wow! It’s been quite a year Cathy and you have learned so much! Finding a team of tradespeople to do the jobs you can’t do yourself makes such a difference to the stress levels. Being the under-gardener is no fun at all but exercising your creativity to get the garden you enjoy is much nicer. I am agog now to see what your word will be next year.

  11. I loved every word of this post. So much positive here. I think you were so wise to figure out it wasn’t gardening you didn’t like but being told you were doing it wrong that took the fun out. It’s a natural reaction. Finding good people to help is essential as well. It’s why I gave up my home. I could no longer do the work myself and couldn’t find anyone to do the necessary work at a reasonable price. I’m looking forward to your new word for next year. Happy New Year, Cathy.

  12. paknitwit said:

    It sounds like Divest has been a challenging but very worthwhile word for you. Well done on a year of it!

  13. All very, very positive. Good reading and a happier you. Well done.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.