Wool, Wiltshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Divest- June update

Divest- my one word guide to declutter my home of stuff and myself from negative thoughts and behaviours which impinge on my mental well-being .

June like May was BUSY! So there was no plan, just a question of enjoying life and seeing how lessons already learned panned out!

And yes it has been fun but totally exhausting. Home maintenance continued well..new shower installed, new bed delivered, and new bedding bought. Endless gardening..weeds dug out, plants planted..all gifted by a friend’s husband who got carried away with packets of seeds and his new potting shed. I even fixed the trim on my windows, all by myself. My sons put up a bee house and insect hotel for me in the garden.

Fun was had..my usual groups, a trip to see The Lion King in Bristol ( it was fabulous), a Vintage Postcard fair, a summer garden party, a walk, a visit to a National Trust House, a family BBQ here and my first overnight guests post moving here and the pandemic.

But what of divesting? Well the overnight visitors meant I had to have a jolly good sort out.. guest beds make excellent dumping sites you know. I cleared out the fitted wardrobe ..turns out I was using quite a lot of space for empty boxes from when we moved in. So I did a run to the municipal recycling centre, and as the boxes didn’t take up all my car boot, I went to the garage and took along an old printer, an old coffee making machine and lots of rubbish. And once the boxes from the wardrobe had gone, there was plenty of space for my not yet started projects to go. I also emptied a rather handy four drawer plastic unit full of ancient DVD’s and wires that was languishing in the garage and gave it a good clean before taking it to my craft room..meaning I could stop using the floor quite so much for storage.

Meantime the book “Dostadning .the gentle art of death cleaning” by Margareta Magnusson has finally reached me from the library, she suggests I start with my clothes. Now theoretically I did this earlier in the year but deep inside me I know I wasn’t terribly thorough, so maybe I should do it again but properly this time.

And what about the procrastination and anticipation of problems which was putting me off doing things in a timely manner and caused so much unnecessary angst?

Well on Saturday morning I was feeling pretty smug, everything on my tick list was nearly done. I’d even cleaned the garden furniture. And then I went in the summer house to take out the picnic table.. I noticed that we still had a play tent in there..think 15 years old or more..why ever had we moved with it. I wondered if the grandchildren might like it out in addition to the new paddling pool I’d got for them. I moved it to one side and there it was a chewed hole in the floor..Rats! B***** H***! Again! I found a large piece of wood in the garage and covered it up.. From the lack of mess inside I don’t think Mr Rat had stayed there long which is a Good thing.

But it’s something to fettle which I’d not banked on.

This morning I had two new tyres fitted on my car.. More smug mode at staying on top of car maintenance. On the way home up flashes a warning light telling me tyre pressure had changed.. I know… they changed the tyres. All this worry over AI and the car computer can’t recognise new tyres..you have to reset the darned computer. Great! As if I know how to do that, and even if I did would I trust myself to do it correctly. Course I wouldn’t!

So much for feeling great because for once I’d got things sorted. All this means I have just spent the last few hours giving myself a reality check. These minor inconveniences are going to keep on happening. It’s life. No amount of lists and proactive action can stop them. I mean I have just had lunch, that’s not it, I shall want dinner, then breakfast, then lunch. Again! And I’ll need to keep on dealing with these issues, just like I need to keep eating.

So the problem isn’t only procrastination or anticipation of hassle, it’s life itself.. It is to coin a phrase One Darned Thing After Another. And the sooner I come to terms with this the better.

I am pretty tired today. It’s been exceptionally sunny and hot for weeks and I don’t function so well in the heat. I have remembered to rest when I could but I am aware that I need to do some serious thinking for a few days. July and August are quieter months as the holiday season kicks in. I am going to spend sometime thinking over things and taking a few decisions.. Sadly I think I shall have to cut back on all the groups I joined. I’ll be back with my thoughts on that later.

Meantime I have a car and Mr Rat to deal with.

Joining with Carolyn and other one worders here. https://youronewordblog.wordpress.com/2023/06/26/checking-in-6-23/

Comments on: "Divest- June update" (19)

  1. Despite being surrounded by fields and farmland, we have yet to see a rat – I’m sure they must be around but we do have cats and dogs so they possibly seek safer ground than ours. I hope your rat finds other premises now you’ve taken steps to deter him.

  2. Wow – you are getting so much done! It is really impressive how on top of things you are staying!

  3. Going Batty in Wales said:

    You are absolutely right about One Darned Thing. Planned maintenance is good but there has to be emergency maintenance too. I like your analogy of meals – for me there are meals I plan to have, and if I am super organised have planned WHAT to have, and there are those times when someone calls in and I make an unplanned cup of tea or coffee and get the cake tin out then don’t want what I had intended for the next meal because I am a bit full. Sometimes they also stay on for lunch or supper and what I planned to have won’t feed 2 or 3 so goes back in the fridge for another day and the freezer is raided. Actually if disruption never happened I think life might be a tad boring!

    As to decluttering I have been through this house several times but clutter keeps creeping back in. And as life moves on and changes I need /want to keep different things.

    Basically life is full of change. Gardens grow, things wear out, I get older… Just keep on keeping on!

  4. Cathy, I really enjoy your one word posts. You’ve accomplished a lot of things that you will not have to address again and that is the real gift. You’ve freed up space and emotional clutter, to make room for the things you love. Now you have a wardrobe for projects, a clean set of drawers for crafting, a lovely garden, and so much more. It feels great hauling things away for donating, recycling, or simply tossing. They’re out of your life.

    I agree with you on the tech stuff. It takes me a long time to change the clock back and forth twice a year. As we put an end to daylight savings time next year, that is one task I will never have to face again.

    I think you’re amazing.

  5. claire93 said:

    would have thought whoever fitted the new tyres would have had the foresight to update the onboard computer – not your fault! I hate the AI system in cars these days, there’s always some light flashing!

    • You would have thought that, but I suppose the tyre place just wouldn’t have had the training or expertise on all the different cars. How manufacturers think Jo Public will know is beyond me.

  6. I think your local garage should be able to plug into your car’s computer and tell it to get a grip. It should be a short thing to do and not cost much. I would love to do a big clear out, but am meeting resistance from A Certain Quarter on account of not wanting to Waste His Time Off doing stuff like that. One of these days I’m going to go postal and just do it, and probably pay the price in screaming back pain… I do think Death Cleaning might be a tad premature in your case, but it’s good to be prepared.

    • Bless you on the death clearing! I just recall how hard it was dealing with my Dad’s stuff, and how much of it I still have. Mr E kept bringing Dad’s shed stuff home whenever we had a go at emptying the house. I am sure the garage will fix the computer on the car without trouble, it’s just that it’s One More Thing. And Never Ending! I think the thing that dismayed me the most was the three empty boxes in the wardrobe! Including one for a piece if medical equipment I’d returned in September 2021, and I hadn’t known was there. I’ll get over myself shortly!

  7. I love reading you mon-end recording of your outings, your decluttering and determination to cope with household problems yourself wherever possible. I take my hat off to you. I have been Tring to “divest” for some years although I only called it decluttering. I have done well with clothes and some paperwork, my sewing room and “sewing down” my not huge stash. The giant task of of photographs ( in a total mess so I don’t know where to start), crockery, vases etc which need labelling so our daughter will know which should be kept/sold/taken to the charity shop. I need to declutter my Quilt books too. However, poor health overtook these plans a year ago so everything ground to a halt. I am hoping to make a plan to re-start my decluttering.- help!,

    • I am so sorry you have had poor health. It certainly impacts on everything. I’m looking forward to reading the book. Hopefully there will be some good ideas. Thank you for your comment.

  8. I am sitting here with my jaw practically hanging open at just how much you accomplished this month. Combined with kicking caffeine, I would guess you’re sleeping pretty hard these days!?
    So many accomplishments–bravo!–and now, I hope, enjoying the fruits of your labor in July and August!
    (Your follow-ups to ‘smug’ made me smile and nod in acknowledgment… Every. single. time. I look at my knitting and remark to myself, “Nice! Well done, you!” — THAT’S when, oh, a few stitches later, I drop one. Without noticing. And make a mess of things for myself. Just because of that you’d think I’d be great at fixing dropped stitches by now. But no! Not even close.)
    Good luck evicting that darned rat.
    🙂

    • Thanks Carolyn for everything. My son and the grandchildren coming gave me huge push forwards, I am actually impressed with myself,but I know there will be more challenges ahead. My next challenge will be Time management. I’m letting it filter down my mind.

  9. It’s so easy to fall into the trap of believing that if we just do everything right, tick everything off the list, that everything will be easy and calm and predictable. And equally easy to be frustrated when that turns out to never be true!

    Awareness is the first step though. Plus if you are up to date on all the predictable things, maybe there’s more space to deal with the surprises?

    I love a good clear out, I put it off just like anyone else but it feels so good to say thank you and goodbye to physical clutter.

    And the Lion King… I saw it in London years ago and cried buckets at the opening number! But in a good way.

  10. Wow – you just keep divesting and taking on what you have identified as clutter. Oh I bet the Lion King was awesome – I’ve never seen it live but I’ve seen filmed performances of the live show – so wonderful. Sorry to read about Mr. Rat but at least you discovered the situation. Yes life is filled with those minor inconveniences – I’ve come to accept them also and congrats to you all you’ve got done 🙂

  11. My car is 16 years old with many irritating faults, but I sort of dread getting a new one with all the new technology to deal with.
    Hope you sort it out – I’m rooting for you!

    Mr Rat is another matter – I know we are never more than 10ft away from a rat, but they really are a challenge and seem to love sheds of any description.
    Good luck with the fettling.

    • Bless you thank you. I wish you could get nice cars without the gizmo’s. I remember Mr E having to reset the computer over his tyres so I didn’t panic when the warning light came on, but he did have a right old tussle and computers were his job!

      Goodness knows how old the hole is, it could be a while since but I’ll take no chances.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.