Wool, Wiltshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Nunnington Hall at Christmas

We visited The National Trust property near us this weekend. Nunnington Hall was decorated for Christmas through the ages.

You approach the house from the side , the great hall is to the right of the door where that enormous chimney is , and was probably a medieval hall. There was a lovely Christmas tree in the hall but my picture came out all blurred. From the hall you go into the dining room which featured a Georgian feast.

To keep children engaged with the tour little snowmen had been hidden for them to find. I have to admit I enjoyed looking for them too.

The hall is not a stately home but an old manor house, and was very much lived in. The sitting room upstairs was decorated for post war 1940s and 1950s.

The volunteer guide said they had to stop the Grandads playing with the meccano. I certainly checked Mr E when he left the room. The tree in this room had paper lanterns on it. Hands up everyone who made paper lanterns as a child. ME!

Oh look another one in a bedroom drawer.

On a writing desk too.

How did the ghost of Christmas Past get in here?

Lurking in a private chapel.

The bedrooms weren’t decorated for Christmas apart from Scrooge and the ghost. Father Christmas was lurking upstairs too but I didn’t see him.

However there is now an art gallery on the top floor in what must have been staff bedrooms. Whoopee. Look what was on show.

It was inspired by rust, well who isn’t and I thought of Margaret with the next one.

Rather splendid, but way out of my price range.

Afterwards we had a stroll round the grounds. Well after a coffee we did. Nearly mid day but look at the length of the shadows.

Course we always have to visit the veg garden. I am sure there must have been something about visiting veg gardens in our marriage ceremony, maybe I should have paid closer attention.

A rather handsome chap  taking his ease, note the on trend mustard trousers, Tialys.

A land girl digging for victory. Rather splendid scarecrows.

And how about this handsome chap, who just would not open his tail, meanie.

Time to wave goodbye to the current occupier then. Thanks for letting us visit.

I am thinking I could knit snowmen to hide about the house….

 

 

Comments on: "Nunnington Hall at Christmas" (29)

  1. WONDERFUL post! I really enjoyed it. Fancy those snowmen working as volunteer guides đŸ˜‰ đŸ˜€ xo

  2. My Gran crocheted oodles of snow men before she died in 1976. (when she retired from running the corner grocery she crocheted like a maniac! LOL!) Sadly they did not survive after lots of my kids handling them. But I think they would be so easy to crochet!
    Your visit to the Hall reminded me of a Keeping Up Appearances episode. Hyacinth always reminded me of my snow man crocheting Gran!

  3. All your photos make me feel I should get out more! But at least I can come with you on your jaunts. Looks like a fun day. Thanks for sharing.

    • It was a nice day. It does take a bit more of an effort to get out in winter, watching the forecast and all that, but it is nice one you get there! Glad you enjoyed the virtual outing.

  4. It looks like a wonderful place! Don’t let Mr. E see where you hide the snowman!

  5. Wonderful visit and pictures as usual, Cathy! I’m so glad you take us along on these excursions. đŸ™‚ Then snowmen are such a fun idea, and that manor looks so familiar….might it have been used for BBC’s Pride & Prejudice , or is that a normal manor backyard?

    • Thanks Kathy. I don’t think the hall has appeared in any films, we do have quite a lot of similar houses, and I guess they all do look pretty similar.

  6. What a good idea, to hide the snowmen and give children some fun–I think little kids might hate this place, otherwise–just boring old stuff in their eyes! And I will be waiting, patiently, to see the snow people you come up with . . .

  7. Penny Post said:

    My in-laws used to run Nunnington and my husband is buried in the church graveyard. We used to get to cross the barriers in the morning and handle the silver on the dining room table, which my father in law used to fasten to the table with wire to stop it being stolen. The picture from the garden of the side of the house replicates a painting that is in my living room as it was our favourite view of the house. My f-i-l used to feed the peacocks in the evening after everyone had left and we used to stay in the house in the on the first floor whose windows I can see in your image. Great memories.

    • I really love your family memories of Nunnington Hall. You are right about the garden view of the house, it is truly lovely. I have to ask did your husband attend the local village school as my Mum taught the infant class in the 60s. Thanks so much for this super comment.

  8. But why hide the snowmen? Make lots of them and then string them together into a festive garland đŸ™‚ I don’t think Mr Trendy Scarecrow had had an accident, I think his corduroy nap had been brushed up the wrong way. One of the disadvantages of corduroy… It does look properly chilly December weather there!

    • Oh yes it was a typical December day , blue skies and a real nip in the air. the car told me it was 5.5C. A snowman garland sounds great fun too. think I shall be knitting snowmen next year.

  9. You should! A snowman treasure hunt for your grandchildren. Nunnington Hall looks a lovely place to visit. Very festive. Got to love the peacock patrol. X

  10. I just love those tiny snowmen! Sometimes I wish we did have Christmas in winter – just for things like that. Though as I’m on a Christmas gnome kick maybe I could make hundreds of those and hide them around my house and garden (if it ever stops raining)

  11. Murtagh's Meadow said:

    The snowmen were lovely. We made some last year at brownies using white socks and recycled old socks as hats and started. Love the scarecrows and stick man.

    • I love the sound of the Brownies snowmen. One of my sons made one when he was at school using a toilet roll inner and cotton wool, very Blue Peterish.

  12. I don’t think I’ve been to Nunnington, I think a tri next year might be in order! The peacock is rather special đŸ™‚

  13. What are you like – hunting for snowmen – and you had the cheek to check Mr. E. for Meccano.
    I love the scarecrow and, yes, a chap after my own heart with his mustard trousers although it looks as if he’s had a little accident – perhaps it’s just the shadows.

  14. Fun! Hidden knitted snowmen is a fab idea!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.