Wool, Wiltshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Remember this picture when I bottled out of the free motion machine embroidery, and settled for hand stitching? I said I’d do something about my lack of skill.

Well I was thrilled to bits when I found a suitable workshop in the nearby town of Cirencester. The tutor was excellent. My fellow workshoppers friendly, and progress was made.

First attempt using a round frame.
Second attempt, no frame, bondaweb on the back for stabilty.
Third attempt drawing round biscuit cutters for guidance, and getting better.

And finally

Tahdah!

Worth doing the workshop. And in due course I do have another project way down the pipeline that requires free motion machine embroidery.

Comments on: "Free Motion Machine Embroidery." (26)

  1. I think I missed this post, this is looking great!

  2. Glad you found a tutor and took the plunge.

  3. Great progress! Sounds like a wonderful class. Good for you for all your new skills!!

  4. Going Batty in Wales said:

    Yay! So glad you persevered and found a good tutor to give you confidence!

  5. Not only am I impressed by your perseverance, but also your work. I think this is fabulous, and the possibilities are endless. Perhaps if I practice a bit I’ll improve – tried once or twice, complete balls-up.

  6. You have done a wonderful job of something I’m terrified of. I’m truly impressed by your bravery.

  7. Wow – I love seeing your progress! Nice work, Cathy!

  8. Clever! Well done. Look forward to seeing your new project.

  9. It’s all about the practice, isn’t it? There’s a clear improvement from start to finish, so I really think you should keep it up!

  10. How do you find out about classes such as these, google?

    • I can’t resist the leaflets and magazines you find in various places, In this case picked up in Asda . Booklet call Explore Gloucestershire, days out guide 2021. Although I got it this year. One page is about the Brewery Court , Cirencester, Connect with Craft in the Cotswolds! Google newbreweryarts.org.uk, took me to the workshops! Love a leaflet, never know what you might find!!

  11. What fun! I saw a bunch of free motion embroidery machines when I was looking for a new sewing machine. Some are pretty fancy

  12. Wow, that’s a noticeable difference in just one workshop. The sky’s the limit once you get some practice in!

  13. claire93 said:

    nothing’s gonna stop you now!

  14. Karen Dodgson said:

    Well done for persevering! Your picture looks great. I went to a nice local class too, and enjoyed having a go but decided it wasn’t really for me. Glad I’ve tried it though, life is always about learning and there’ll be things we don’t enjoy but equally we may stumble across something we absolutely love.x

  15. Hurray! Great progress!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.