Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Knit and Natter Friday!

The Snail of Happiness re- blogged a post about the Smoothie Innocent campaign of little hats for Age UK, whereby they donate 25p for every smoothie bought wearing a hand knitted wooly hat. Last year I made some hats you may recall and I wondered whether it would have been simpler and easier to just give the money, and I think the consensus was that it did raise money and raised awareness of Age UK. This year a further point was added to the debate,- what happens to the hats afterwards , do they go into landfill and does the acrylic content of the yarn add to pollution. You can read the Snail’s post here https://thesnailofhappiness.com/2017/10/09/not-so-innocent-little-hats/.

Sorry word press is not playing ball with the links this morning.

Now of course all of the above is true. In my innocence I thought people would keep the hats for dolls or send them back for use again next year. Maybe that’s just me..

This year the campaign to knit for them passed me by completely. However last Friday found me in York at the station in need of lunch. So I went to WH Smith and choose a sandwich( egg and cress, ‘cos I know someone will want to know which I choose), and thence to find a beverage. nestling amongst extortionate bottled water and so-called fruit drinks were half a dozen Innocent Smoothies wearing little wooly hats. THEY MADE ME SMILE. So I bought one, and enjoyed my ad hoc picnic, whilst chatting to a lady who was catching a train to Nottingham to stay with her son and to see a musical, before he drove her home on Sunday, and we wondered at a girl taking several selfies of herself on York station under a sign saying Welcome to York.

Back home it was still making me smile and not for one second did I consider putting my hat in the bin. I found a home for it on my window cill on top of this.

Round the back it still has on its label which tells you about the Age Concern campaign to promote the health of older people in Winter.

So not all hats go into land fill. Some hats become the star of a blog post. And this hat makes me smile every time I see it, and I am officially a OAP, even if I don’t really think of myself that way.

Of course this hat doesn’t help older, even older people than me keep warm, but this blanket I have started to crochet, may.

Is it just me or is there something in the October air that says ever so subtly, c  r  o  c  h e  t  a b  l  a  n  k  e  t.

Seems to happen every year.

Meantime YIPPEE, THREE CHEERS, HURRAH, HAPPY DANCE, RUNNING ROUND IN CIRCLES, DON’T KNOW WHERE TO PUT MYSELF, TAHDAH!

Nana for a fourth time to this little chap

Hence forward to be known as Baby J with my middle son , his Daddy Mr J.

So proud! So happy! He was late, and I have been like the proverbial cat on hot bricks for a month ( my babes were all early, so I start the grand child anticipation early too).

We will be hitting the motorways later this month. Can’t wait for my first cuddle.

Precious little knitting this week. I now have a heap of bits

to be turned into something super cute.

Ok time for me to come down to earth and go supermarket shopping. Groan. Normally a Saturday job, but this weekend it’s the Pickering war weekend, at which our little town gets turned into a theme park for 60,000 people. We shall be heading for the hills, metaphor for out for the day away from the hoards who dress up in uniforms, sport medals to which they are not entitled, but the worst are the women who wear dead things round their necks.

So, what is everyone else up to craft wise this weekend? Where do you stand on the Innocent Smoothie hats, or even on the tourist plagues that spoil the very thing they come to enjoy?

Have a great weekend, whatever you do, And Be Happy. I know I am..

 

Comments on: "Knit and Natter Friday!" (52)

  1. Oh CONGRATULATIONS on Baby J- how wonderful! 🙂 🙂

  2. Firstly, congratulations on another grandchild – he looks adorable and I bet you can’t wait to get your mitts on him.
    Secondly, I did start making little hats this year but only did two and then started to wonder about some of the things discussed in the original post re-blogged by Snail. So, they never got sent and are still in my workroom at the moment – maybe I’ll use them as egg cosies 😉

  3. In the next week or two my charity knitting is going to be a cotton breast prosthesis … chatting at ‘Knit Night’ yesterday about charity knitting I mentioned that I knit breasts and one of the ladies very shyly asked me if I could make one for her. Oh, how sad it made me feel to hear about her heavy silicone prosthesis and how uncomfortable it is and how happy that I can do something to help.
    I’m glad you are enjoying your tiny hat, but I think you are probably in the minority in keeping it.
    Baby J is going to have some splendid togs by the look of it.

    • I have just had a look at the pile of things I made for him, I will share them all next week.
      The breast idea is brilliant. I recently approached the organisation about joining the band of knitters, but the co-ordintor is not at work till next week. Not sure I get why I couldn’t just get knitting or even submit an application.

  4. So many congrats on the new grandbaby! He’s gorgeous and very lucky to have such a wonderful grandmother!

  5. I don’t even enjoy crocheting but your autumn-colored blocks make me want to start a blanket! Your new grandbaby looks adorable–what a head of hair! Will those small bits of knitting become a gift for him?

    • Thanks very much. Yes it is one more last minute gift, very fiddly but oh so cute. Crochet is somehow more relaxing than knitting, just a qestion of endless counting! I have been known to fall asleep.

  6. This week I read that blog post on fb as it had been highlighted by someone and the comments underneath were actually very good – some were horrified, some vowed never to knit them again, but others pointed out that yarn often ends up being thrown away anyway, and another described how their organisation received good funding and publicity from the campaign. Another did a break down of their own and actually the hats brought far more to the charity they were involved in than was ‘needlessly spent’ by Innocent. There always two sides to every story.

    • And nowhere does anyone ever mention that a little hat on a drink is so cheering. When I saw them in drink cabinet it just lit up the day, and that has got to be a good thing too. I think I shall continue to knit them, from my jamjar of scraps, but also to buy them.

  7. Skippity do dah!!!!! and Hurray!!!! Welcome to the world Baby J – well done Nana for getting through that nail biting month – I know the feeling well! Congratualtions!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Those little hats – hmmm – I’m glad it makes you smile and you get so much pleasure from it – however when I read in Mrs Snail’s retweet that INNOCENT (!) was owned by Coca Cola – that was enough for me, their disregard for the environmetal impact of their products means I avoid anything owned by them, if I can. My 10 year old granddaughter is always telling people that going shopping with Granny takes AGES because I have to read all the labels to discover countries of origin as well as parent companies! Ethical shopping is a task that takes time but every purchase is a vote for the world we want our children and grandchildren to grow up in. Ooops! on my soap box again! ❤

  8. Congratulations!! He’s adorable!
    I love the little hats and enjoy seeing them appear on blogs:)

  9. Beautiful baby! Congratulations!

  10. Lovely to meet your new grandson – very happy news! I guess it’s true that those little Innocent Smoothie hats are illogical in terms of money and effort – but finding one in a chiller cabinet would make me smile too, and I bet a lot of people kept theirs 🙂

  11. Baby J and that hair, reminds me of Girl#1! How happy you must be to have such a sweet boy, safe and sound! Big plans for Saturday, the St. Olaf Orchestra will be in town, and we are going. One of the best college orchestras in the country, can’t wait!

  12. Love the hats, but then doesn’t everything we buy lead to pollution? The hoards, well I can see the good it does the community, but imagine it is a pain for the citizens. We lived near the Fair Grounds which hosted Frog Follies, old car show and camping. Each year it has grown with 2017’s attendance reaching 15,000. So we learned what streets and areas to avoid during the weekend and never went to a sit down restaurant during the event. You couldn’t find an open seat!

    • It’s very hard to be charitable when visitors out number inhabitants 6 to one! It was pretty bad this morning and it doesn’t start till tomorrow officially. The problem is that they have no consideration for locals. Off for the day on Saturday.

  13. Congratulations on the arrival of that handsome little fellow to your family! What joy! This weekend, I hope to have some uninterrupted sewing time. We’ll see if I get my way 😉

  14. Congratulations on the new grandson. I decided a long time ago that the hats were a bit of a gimic and so decided to have nothing to do with them. More about selling smoothies than charity methinks. And consider cost of yarn and postage and donation may well do more good. Just my two pennorth.

  15. claire93 said:

    welcome to baby J and congrats to proud parents & grandparents!
    Are you making something like a chicken for baby? That orange bit looks rather like a coxcomb to me (if that’s the right word).

  16. thoughts36 said:

    Aww congratulations NanaCathy, your grandson is beautiful. I have to admit to quite liking those war weekend themed events. My favourite bit about them is seeing the old coach built silver cross prams, love them. But……..no I wouldn’t be impressed at great deluges of people descending on my town.

    • Thank you. I don’t mind people having these weekends in a field, it’s the fact that it takes over the whole town, strrets, shops, car parks,library, museum, theatre, pubs, restaurants, cafes, every possible venue, the roads, the schools, all the way from here to Whitby. We shall head West. And horror of horror, the local yarn shop. Still every local charity gets in on the act.

  17. Congratulations! There is nothing like new baby smell:)
    I’ll be starting a new project this weekend:)

  18. Congrats on that beautiful new grand-baby and handsome daddy-son! It’s so lovely that life is good for you ❤ I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your hat-on-a-smoothie, though I remain
    a non-fan. Do you literally go up a hill or hunker down at home for these events? It's such an odd phenomenon when your town is invaded isn't it. Have a lovely weekend, whatever you do.

  19. Murtagh's Meadow said:

    Congratulations, how wonderful for the whole family and a big welcome to Baby J:-)

  20. Congratulations on the new little one! So gorgeous, and one very proud looking Daddy.
    I too love those little hats. I keep seeing them on people’s desks at work (though that could be for another reason). I love your little home for yours!

  21. Congrats on the new grandson. Innocent Hats – I often wondered what happened to them. I was gifted a knitted scarf on a handmade Christmas Card once. It now sits wrapped round the ‘neck’ of my spaghetti jar. I guess if I had a mini hat I’d possibly find some item in the kitchen to wear it too!

    • I agree these little items are too nice to just dispose of them! I bet your spaghetti jar looks very sweet and makes you smile everytime you see it!

  22. Hello, congratulations, how wonderful 🙂 Thank you so much for finding me and following; it’s very nice to meet you 🙂

  23. congratulations on your new grandchild, what a lovely boy!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

