Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

It’s Scrap Happy Day at Kate’s, where you will find links to lots of bloggers using up their scraps. As it happens I finished the fluffy hooded jacket , gender neutral, this week. A lovely quick make.

There was leftover yarn to make these

With the jacket

And there is still some left over for something I have wanted to make for a while.Β  I shall have a great time choosing some buttons for this jacket on Saturday.

Repair requests have been coming in this week, the cafe is on the 23rd September. So far ripped trousers, a cracked large flower-pot and a printer which stops after three pages! I need not have worried that there would be no repairs for the volunteers.

I mentioned last week that we had a fun night to look forward too , it was terrific , let me tell you. The Faulty Towers Dining Experience.

I have not laughed so much in ages. Basically, Mr and Mrs Faulty and Manuel take over the dining room of a hotel for a night to serve you dinner. Yes you get a three course meal, which was good, but be warned the food is a prop and you are an extra!

Back down to earth, literally , I have been planting spring bulbs this week. I love planting bulbs at this time of year, it makes me think that Winter isn’t so long and soon Spring will be here again.

Did you know that it was Roald Dahl day, Wednesday this week , I think. Courtesy of Mrs T I bring you from The Enormous Crocodile.

The Roly- Poly Bird

and Muggle-Wump the Monkey

and all the time I was knitting costumes I thought I was knitting jumpers!

Moving on, I bought buttons for the little blue cardigan. The photos don’t show that it really is powder blue in colour.

And the buttons are little footballs in blue and white. Gender neutral ones of course! Apparently the shop ladies Grandson insisted on Chelsea ones, black and white footballs were not acceptable.

I never remember to tell you what the patterns and yarn are. This one is in 4 ply yarn, Snuggly pattern 4512, and the fluffy nonsense is a chunky yarn Sirdar Snowflake, pattern 1882. It’s a so and so to sew with but knitting with itΒ  is a dream.

And do you know what next? I may just knit myself a pair of gloves. I have not made myself something for a very long time!

Meantime I am off to my Family History Group this morning, the first meeting after the summer break!

So do you have any plans for creating this weekend, do tell and join me in some nattering. Weather permitting I hope to be outside in the garden.

What ever you do have a great weekend, and

Be Happy,

Cathy

 

 

Comments on: "Scrap Happy Knit, and Natter Friday." (33)

  1. Love the scrappy jacket, I could do with one myself in this weather!

  2. You’ve had an excellent ScrapHappy session, not only using scraps but encouraging others to repair and reuse things. Great work!

  3. Lovely things. I’m just dashing off a comment before I set off to catch my train to Birmingham and meet up with lots of lovely charity crafters at the sixty million trebles do. I’m sure your repair cafe will be brilliant… and remember to take Sugru.

  4. I enjoyed watching the Fawlty Towers dinner show – they do a very good job of impersonating the originals – but man, how can you eat with all that going on around you? I’d be too busy cringing out of the way or fascinated by the insanity of it all …… All the best for your cafe opening. I’m sure word will spread pretty fast!

    • The word manic came to mind,once you are finally served you do get time to eat, oh except hope no-one tells Manuel they haven’t had a dinner yet, he will give you your neighbours!! We all said the food was good, and everyone enjoyed it! You have to be prepared to join in!

  5. wow! that was a post packed with goodies! πŸ™‚

  6. Gosh you have been busy. Fawlty Towers Evening – brilliant idea.

  7. Your little monkey and Roly-Poly are adorable! And so the sweaters all. I will be knitting or sewing and maybe join a walk my Hubster is doing. But I would love to get to a state park to see the first turning of leaves colors.

    • Thank you. I love walks to see the leaves changing colour, they are still very green here, until the first frosts. Have a happy weekend whatever you do!

  8. I think you should definitely make something for yourself. A bit of selfish knitting/sewing never did anybody any harm. Personally, before I do any crafting this weekend, I shall be trying to do a double class tomorrow morning – Zumba followed by Pilates – whilst still getting twinges from a recent sciatica attack. If you don’t hear from me for a while, believe the worst.

    • Oh you poor thing, Pilates I love but Zumba always sounds energetic to me.I hope you feel better for it all. I much prefer making things for others than myself, but I could use some more gloves. I last made some 15 years ago, and they look like they are that old.

  9. Murtagh's Meadow said:

    You have been busy. Everything looks lovely. We just finished reading R Dahl’s Matilda tonight. I had to read about seven chapters to get to the end but it was worth it. My son says it is now his favourite book!

  10. You make more in a week than I do in months! It’s all impressive and pretty . . . and for other people! SO, yes, make something for you!

    • I make very small things! I need some new gloves. The ones I made when we moved here 14-15 years ago look a bit tatty, but no holes, so the yarn stands up well to wear and tear.

  11. I’m still laughing after having watched the video. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    You are a very talented knittter, I’m impressed!

  12. You do get a whole lot done! I need lessons in getting things accomplished. 😦 Loved the jumpers and it looks like the kids did too. All smiles there. Nothing goes to waste around you, certainly. The dinner theater video was hilarious and you got it put in perfectly.

  13. You have had an exciting week! The Fawlty dinner video was hilarious! I’m glad that people are signing up for the repair day, and the grands look great in their costumes!

  14. The girls are adorable!
    I love the sweater and booties made from scraps. Years ago (1988) I bought our newly adopted baby the cutest sweater hand made with odds and ends. The sweet little Grandma said she thought no one would buy “that” sweater! I told her it was beautiful. Many more babies (thru adoption) wore that sweater!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

