Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Wild about town!

Pickering really is quite remarkable, a steam railway and a fabulous Castle on the doorstep. Time to see what I could see at the Castle, stand by for my best ever wildlife photo, or not!

There are Kestrels nesting in this wall of theย  Kings Tower. See them? Told you it was not my best picture. There is a telescope set up on the moat side below. I looked and looked. No Joy. A Yummy Mummy and her off spring came and they looked. “Oh look” says Yummy Mummy “I can see the babies andย  a kestrel feeding them. ” The children couldn’t see them either. I rest my case.

The view from the Castle of Beacon Hill is jolly nice, the hill is at the back of our house. No you can’t see our house, but it is a nice view, don’t you think?

You can just about make out the sheep. You do have to peer a bit. Anyway after that I took myself down to the Quaker Community Garden. It is so lovely there, peaceful and pretty, and there is a grass maze to scamper round. A chap returning tables to the meeting-house encouraged me to have a go, and as no-one was looking I did it barefoot. And nothing attacked me.

I may spend the rest of this 30 day wild challenge sat on the bench, safer that way!

 

Comments on: "Wild about town!" (24)

  1. Intrepid Nana!

  2. I walked the grassy maze when we stayed on Cumbrae – like you, I waited for a moment when nobody was around! And found it curiously comforting. Pickering sounds so interesting – I do love a place with a good castle.

    • That castle has been one of my favourite places for as long as I can remember. My friend and I used to play there, fully regalled in our dressing up clothes as peasants!

  3. Wish I had a hill at the back of my house! Lucky you.

  4. claire93 said:

    I can just about spot a few dots that must be sheep, but as for the kestrel, nope, I’ll take your word for it.
    By the way, what on earth is a “Yummy Mummy”?

    • Where have you been Claire? Oh yes, France ๐Ÿ˜‰ I would have thought you’d have heard the expression though. They are Mums who are attractive, dress well and are usually quite well off – think Samantha Cameron

  5. What a beautiful spot!! That first photo is incredible, even without kestrels!

  6. You live in a lovely place. We have a castle too, but alas no grass maze!

  7. What gorgeous countryside! I would love to go walking there.

  8. Murtagh's Meadow said:

    Barefoot on grass is the way to go:-)

  9. Such beautiful landscape!

  10. This looks like a blissful place Cathy! Thanks so much for sharing this lush green in my feed ๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ˜Š

  11. I LOVE seeing your surroundings—nothing whatsoever like mine:
    here in Minnesota, we have no Norman Castles (I looked yours up on Wikipedia: impressive!).
    Our oldest standing site in town (Minneapolis) is a fort from 1820 (we have some re-created things too)—any older buildings from the local Ojibwe and Dakota people was natural materials that didn’t survive, though bead and pottery artworks survive.

  12. WOW, there is so much to see around your house and community! Glad you weren’t attacked!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Gorgeous!! How lovely to live in such an idealic spot.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

