Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

30 Days Wild

Feeling Happy- The sun is shining and I have just signed up for 30 Days Wild organised by the Wildlife Trust.

We visited the Ellerburn Bank Nature Reserve recently, which is managed under the auspices of the Yorkshire Wildlife Trust.

Beautiful Gorse in full bloom.

A regeneration of cowslips.

Stunning view down towards the village of Ellerburn, tearoom, no pub. And the lovely Dalby Forest to walk back through.

Busy thinking up ideas of some Wild and wonderful things to try in June, and looking forward to receiving my ideas pack. Meantime anyone got any ideas?

 

Comments on: "30 Days Wild" (25)

  1. Aw wonderful. I am awaiting my pack too. I did it two years ago so you can look at my old posts if you like. Will be good to join in again. Things I tried included making borage lemonade, a daisy chain, went barefoot in a field and spent half an hour by a brook recording the wildlife I saw there. The Gorse in your picture is beautiful. It is really vibrant at the moment.x

    • What fantastic ideas. Never tried borage lemonade, I shall certainly look at your old posts. Fantastic to be doing this. I am already wandering round the garden to decide where to plant the wild flowers.

  2. Just read some of your old posts, some really super ideas, thank you. I have joined the facebook group too.

  3. Look forward to reading your post. Although no pub sounds wild enough for me 😉

  4. wow! utterly gorgeous!

  5. One look at that photo of the gorse and I could smell the honey scent of it, and the sweetness of the cowslips, too. I seem to remember that there was a River Cottage recipe for gorse flower wine…

    • I remember the River Cottage programme where they collected the gorse flowers! Not easy with a lot of prickles. What you can’t convey in a picture is the noise of the bees buzzing around.

  6. “Random Acts of Wildness”, love that idea! Us here over the big pond might need to borrow that challenge,eh. 😉 Thanks for sharing~cheers

  7. What a fab idea, especially if you can involve the grandchildren. I didn’t know about it – thanks so much for the introduction.
    How about – discover the name of a wildflower you don’t recognise and dress up as it! (Ladies Smock :http://www.wildlifetrusts.org/species/ladys-smock)

    • I think your grand daughter would love this, and especially your dressing up idea. Not certain I could dress up as a flower!!

  8. Sounds like fun. I had a look at the ‘Random Acts of Wildness’ suggestions page and rather fancied the idea of mixing a ‘wild cocktail’ – even though the one in the photo looks like a healthy smoothie that hasn’t been blended together yet 😉

  9. Sounds a great challenge, I’m tempted 🙂

    • You don’t have to do big things, making a daisy chain is one of the smallest. I am getting excited by it. Give in to temptation.

  10. This sounds like it will be a lot of fun!

  11. Great images Cathy, enjoy the experiences in your natural world up there in Yorkshire.

  12. No pub?????? But, I digress–what a cool idea for a challenge! It has set me imagining all kinds of things . . . and looking forward to hearing about your wild ways.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

