Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Spa Bridge Scarborough, taken January 2017

Ruins of St Mary’s Abbey, York, taken this month

Bootham Bar, York. The entrances to the old part of the city of York are called, Bars. In other UK cities they are also known as Gates. Confusing, but we Brits like to confuse!!

Please leave a link in the comments below for any Arch posts. Wild Daffodil will do a monthly round up at the end of April.

Next week’s prompt is Nature.

Happy Snapping!

Comments on: "One a week Photo Challenge- Arch" (19)

  1. Lots of great arches! I have a few to choose from to. In Southampton one of our old gates is called the ‘Bargate’ wonder if there is a connection.

  2. three stunning photos. It’s hard to choose but I think the last one is my favourite. I love those little slitty windows!!! When was it built, do you know?

  3. Snap! I’m just uploading my photo of the ruins of St Mary’s 🙂

  4. I love your photos of York. I really like the city even though I had a nasty experience when I got my purse stolen on the train up there once. When I did my OU degree I spent a couple of weeks there on the university campus at ‘summer school’ and sampled quite a few of the bars and pubs 😉

  5. Great arch photos Cathy. Like the St Mary’s ruin the best it reminds me of an early episode of All Creatures great and Small and Tristan’s monk ghost trick.

  6. corrineappleby said:

    Some lovely photos there but the picture at the top is actually the Spa bridge. Valley bridge is the road bridge just before that one, assuming you’re driving under them both heading towards the sea! I was at that York ‘gate’ recently too. I love seeing these photos that are local to me.

  7. I like the time warp you created going from modern to medieval!

  8. York is lovely. Used to visit when we lived in Leeds, but there were always too may tourists 😦

  9. Interesting arches.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

