Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Couldn’t pass up a chance to take you on a tour of another local village. Now you may think you don’t know Newton on Rawcliffe , but you may be mistaken just a little bit. A few miles out of Pickering and just about within the North York Moors Park area, Newton lies on the west side of Newtondale, which you may not have heard of but you may just have seen. Remember Heartbeat(ITV)? Well the opening sequence shows a steam train chugging its way through Newtondale, and the yellow gorse on the roadside, well that’s on the East side of Newtondale just opposite Newton. We may go there one day on my exploration of villages.

Newton on Rawcliffe is a very small village, not fancy in any way. In fact one of the things I really like about it, is that it’s not a chocolate box village. There’s mud on the road and you can smell that you are in a rural location.

Up this hill lies the village pond.

A proper pond in which cattle, sheep , geese, and ducks used to go for water. Now its just ducks and the odd horse.

Going on a bit further, as they say in these parts.

A proper working phone box, don’t expect a mobile phone signal here.

A proper village hall, hub of the community. They were advertising a Pudding Club night on that notice board.

This was my favourite little cottage, called Turf House cottage. Back in the day, villagers collected turf from the moor for fuel, I think it was stored here for the farmhouse behind.

This was my favourite cottage garden. The day was a bit misty and murky last week although the sun did try to break through the clouds.

Looking at this building I am guessing it used to be the village school.

That’s the Methodist chapel and this

St John’s church which is part of a parish of several villages served by a vicar who conducts services in different ones each week, with the congregation having to travel if they want to attend a service each week.

Inside is plain and simple.

This church clock mechanism is fascinating to watch.

This little chap encourages you to leave a pebble and say a prayer.

See the big black one in the front, this was for you Kate coping with mud, for you Margaret for your precious daughter and for my friend Jane whose father is very poorly at present. On the wall opposite were these delightful paintings.

Painted by Antonia Winsor who lives in the village.

I loved this bit and

this bit is so moving.

Did I mention that there is a vacancy for a vicar for the parish but you don’t get

the rather big Old Vicarage, which is in private ownership now.  Feeling a bit thirsty after all this walking about? Pub?

Oh yes, there is a campsite next door too!

Hope you enjoyed my tour , with Pond!

Wild Daffodil will be away from her blog this month so please feel free to leave a link to your pond in the comments section.  Sandra will then be able to do a monthly round up of our efforts when she’s is back.

Meantime next weeks prompt is LUNCH! Nomnomnom!

Happy noshing Snapping!

Comments on: "Photo Challenge- Pond, Newton on Rawcliffe" (29)

  1. Thank you for my prayer pebble! And for the nostalgia trip round an English village, so very different from the landscape around me now…

    • I bet the scenery is different. I just knew how I would have felt if it had been me coping with the mud etc. So happy that things are nearly straight and you are all well.

  2. In your first photo, the wide verge between road and houses seems so typical of the area. Around here our village houses were often built right on the side of the road. I wonder why they’re so different.

  3. claire93 said:

    thank you for letting us join you on your walk around Newton on Rawcliffe ^^

  4. What a lovely village. Really enjoyed seeing all your photographs. I am thinking about doing a ‘pond’ post but most of the enclosed areas of water I have are called lakes! even though they are not huge like in the Lake District. I wonder when a lake becomes a pond?

  5. Thanks for the tour. Yes, a proper English village 🙂 More like us down here than those clean ones up country. The pictures are stunning.

    • We do of course have a fair share of picture postcard villages, but I thought it wuld be nice to have just an ordinary one. It’s so ordinary that there is nothing on the web about it nor any books in the library. I had to use the little grey cells in this post.

  6. What a fabulous tour- I feel I’ve actually been there! Thanks so much 🙂 🙂

  7. My goodness–that looks like a Hollywood version of a British village–so perfectly perfect! I love all the stone and the inside of the simple church! And the painting of the sheep–you packed the post with good stuff!

  8. Wonderful photos. Love the old architecture. The paintings were phenomenal! I like the idea of a pebble for a prayer. The crochet monk is adorable. 🙂

  9. Looks like a lovely village, albeit very quiet – where is everybody?

    • I avoided them, otherwise I would have had to ask permission to take their pics. There was a lady with a horse, she walked over to the grass verge and let her horse graze whilst she read. A walking party plonked themselves down in front of the pub to change their boots. Two of the houses had builders working on them. And there were a few cars about too.

  10. Am enjoying these posts no end. Your photos bring to mind so many descriptive passages in books I’ve read. The countryside is beautiful and vastly different from what we have over here. Thank you so much for sharing!

  11. Thanks for another wonderful tour!

  12. hayleym said:

    What a lovely village! Here’s my post for this week http://hmcloughlin.blogspot.co.uk/2017/04/photo-challenge-week-14-pond.html

  13. A lovely photo essay Cathy and the pond was slipped in as well.

  14. Beautiful village. It must be nice to live in such a place.

  15. Hi Cathy, I just saw Sandra is away and had sent this link to her, my POND is at https://haikuhound.wordpress.com/2017/04/09/a-muddy-pond/

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

