Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Yarn Along no more!

First a little mermaid.

Apparently she slept in it too! ( picture by her Mama)

So since we have been away I have been using my Kindle and have read The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd. Thank you everyone who recommended this book to me. I LOVE it. Absolutely brilliant. Quilts, equal opportunities for women, abolition of slavery, love , friendship, and based on two real sisters in the nineteenth century.  The best book this year! So far.

I have reached the stage of adding the front band to this matinée jacket, should be done by next week.

Ginny has decided no longer to host her Yarn Along! I shall certainly miss the Wednesday ritual, but life goes on, and I would like to thank Ginny for doing this for so long, it has been such fun and to wish her all the best. She has suggested that instead we link to Frontier Dreams and stay calm and keep crafting, so I have here at Frontier Dreams

Comments on: "Yarn Along no more!" (18)

  1. Look at the smile!! She loves her mermaid tail! I bet you’re thrilled:)

  2. Ohh what a happy girlie in her mermaid tail! How special!

    Going to add the Invention of Wings to my to readlist – sounds great!

  3. claire93 said:

    what a pretty mermaid! you are the best nana ^^

  4. Well, I’ve never seen such a happy mermaid. Well done to you for producing such a lovely tail.
    I think I may have been one of those recommending Sue Monk Kidd’s book to you. It’s wonderful isn’t it? I think I might even prefer it to ‘The Secret Life of Bees’.

    • She does look happy with that big smile. I agree the book is even better than her first. Thank you for the recommendation.

  5. Fabulous! What a perfect Mermaid, and do I recognise a pink seahorse swimming along with her?! What a lovely way to use it. I’m feeling a bit sad to say goodbye to Ginny’s Yarn Along, but like you appreciate her for hosting it for so long.

  6. Oh yes, I think you may have missed last weeks post with the link to you re the seahorse! Ginny will be missed.

    • I don’t know how I missed it! Just popped back to read the post – lovely – have left a msg with an update on Ollie’s nightlife!

  7. Gotta love that smile. She’s a cutie! And plan to add the book to my reading list. It’s sounds interesting. I’ve also heard good things about the author before. Can’t wait to see the jacket when it’s done.

  8. It must be wonderful to know that it is so much appreciated. It certainly looks very cosy.

  9. Mermaid approved! So adorable! 🙂

  10. That’s adorable! You will probably never make anything that is better-loved than that tail! And thanks for the head’s up about that book–it sounds marvelous!

  11. I’m sure you will find a way to keep sharing your work with us. Your granddaughter looks like she couldn’t be happier. That’s quite the project. I love the color of the matinee jacket. It will be beautiful. I read ” The Secret Life of Bees” and loved it. Have “The Invention of Wings” but it’s at the bottom of the stack. May have to move it up now. 🙂

  12. I know, it’s such a shame and so sudden. I’ll miss the linking and opportunity to visit all the very varied blogs too. I wonder about starting my own weekly link thing, but it’s not free to do and I’d want to know that people were going to join.

  13. Adorable!!! She looks like she adores it for sure.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

