Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Sometimes these things just happen! We have spent a lovely weekend away in Oxfordshire, and on the Sunday afternoon Mr E and I were left in charge of Master H and Miss S (his step sister in waiting). Now it so happened that the day before we had driven past a sign which read “Combe Mill in Steam- Sunday”. And it just so happens that we used to live very near Combe Mill in the village of Combe. Mr E read that notice with such longing…in steam…. So I googled the opening times and it fitted in with the other plans and so off we jolly well went. Mr E to revel in the steam engines, the children and I to enjoy the Historical setting!

Combe Mill by the way is part of the Blenheim estate, Duke of Marlborough, Blenheim Palace. The mill was the place where all the maintenance for the Palace was done. We used to get our Christmas trees from there. It’s now described as a” Restored sawmill and industrial museum”. The visit brought back many happy memories for me of bringing up the boys in this part of the country. Anyway that is enough rabbit, rabbit rabbit from me, this is supposed to be a picture post!

Combe Mill

with water wheel

You can still make your own poker here. Two of our boys made them in the past and they still work nearly 25 years on.

Blacksmith skills may be historical but also in use today.

Not so these sewing machines! Super extra display.

And Morris dancing! Historical, traditional, call it what you will, still enjoyable.

More information on here

I hope you enjoed my historical pictures this week. Please leave a link to any historical pictures over at Wild daffodil, or in the comments below.

Next week’s prompt is Van

Happy Snapping!

Comments on: "Photo Challenge- Historical" (22)

  1. What a great day that turned out to be – no photos of steam engines I notice! πŸ˜‰

  2. Such an outing! It looks fascinating and, oh, those sewing machines!

  3. Great post and photos, Cathy!

  4. a real live blacksmith!!! how marvellous πŸ™‚

  5. Looks like a fun day out and I love the sewing machines although I’m getting quite a collection of those myself as you can pick them up so cheaply here – around 20 euros complete with stand. My husband uses one to stitch leather bags but I can’t get the knack of working the treadle properly.

  6. Looks a fascinating place.

  7. That’s a very interesting place. I love the picture of the vintage sewing machines! I also had a historical adventure on Saturday right here in my home town. You can read about it here http://deborahnhamilton.blogspot.com/2017/03/florence-ranch-homestead.html

    • I have just been to see and your post is just lovely, what an historical post! Thanks for leaving the link. I tried to comment but I am not signed up to Google.

  8. Those last two photos are top class!

  9. A very interesting historical photo essay Cathy

  10. Oh, those sewing machines! Fab that you can still take part in a metalworking workshop, too. Haven’t done that since I was at school and made a little shovel which lasted at least thirty years before the handle fell off.

  11. hayleym said:

    Oh how lovely are those sewing machines!?
    For some reason my link wouldn’t work yesterday, fingers crossed it does today πŸ™‚

    http://hmcloughlin.blogspot.co.uk/2017/03/photo-challenge-week-12-historical.html

  12. What a wonderful ‘historical’ trip! Lovely to see the Morris dancers too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

