Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

scarborough-05-01-17-015

I found this card and this one in a local antique shop back in the Summer.

scarborough-05-01-17-016

They cost me a £1. Although they look like postcards, same shape and size, there is no postcard on the back. The top one says lace making and the bottom is hand weaving. The writing reads Langdale Linen Industry, Coniston. Approved by Prof Ruskin. The writing to the right says Atkinson’s Series.

A little investigation was called for. Ruskin was part of the Arts and Crafts movement and indeed founded a Langdale Linen Industry in Coniston. More details Here .

So then I did a bit of research about Atkinson series. I have found the name connected to Canadian postcards but nothing for the UK.

Then I looked for images of the Langdale Linen industry and came up with a picture of a postcard depicting the hand weaving.

And that’s as far as I could get. If anyone knows anything at all about my cards I would love to know please.

Meantime if you have a photo for the challenge please leave a link here or at Wild Daffodil

Next week’s prompt is Awkward.

Happy Snapping!

Comments on: "One a week photo challenge- card" (15)

  1. Interesting. Although I’m sorry I can’t help. They look lovely though – well done for rescuing them from the shop.

  2. The lady at the top is making bobbin lace on a flat pillow. There’s a little roll in the middle that turns so you can make continuous lengths of lace. Unfortunately the light reflects exactly on that bit of the picture, so some of the detail is lost.

    I’m finding that “Approved by Prof Ruskin” curious as well.

  3. I love old postcards – I know collectors like them to be unused but I love reading the messages on the back. I have quite a few written in the first and second world wars – very poignant.
    I don’t know anything about yours i’m afraid but they are very interesting. That lace making gizmo makes me go cross eyed.

    • Lace making is not for the faint hearted. One of the many crafts I haven’t been tempted to try! I love old postcards too and so agree about the messages.

  4. These are wonderful! The woman is weaving on a counterbalance loom, I believe, and look at the lace on the pillow to the left! I saw someone working on bobbin lace recently–amazing process. Lucky you, to have these images!

  5. Helen Johnstone said:

    Hi Cathy
    Heres mine – was a challenge but I think next weeks is harder! https://patientgardener.wordpress.com/2017/01/13/card-weekly-photo-challenge/

  6. Your cards are very interesting! Such diligence these women had…

  7. […] linking with Nana Cathy for this photo challenge. If you would like to join in, pop over to her blog for more […]

  8. I love that postcard! 😊

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

