Life and Thyme!

Yarn Along!

I have my first piece of knitting for 2017 completed.

3-1-17-008

A jumper and matching hat for my grandson. Knitted in a yarn called Party Time by James Brett. It’s chunky and oh so quick to knit up. Very satisfying. The buttons came from my button box.

3-1-17-009

and there was enough yarn to make a hat which I adapted from another chunky pattern. Think it will be ok. The jumper is on the big size so I am knitting another one in the next size down, different colour, same yarn and pattern. Meantime, I have now reached the second sleeve on that white cable cardigan.

3-1-17-014

Carrying on with my read through the alphabet I have reached W- Vita Sackville West, All Passion Spent. An 88-year-old finally gets to do what she wants on the death of her husband. And the first of my non fiction reads for the year is a diary written by John Steinbeck as he wrote his masterpiece The Grapes of Wrath. A fascinating insight into the mind of my favourite author.

Joining with Ginny for Yarn Along

 

 

Comments on: "Yarn Along!" (17)

  1. What an adorable jumper and hat combo! And I love the fun rainbow of your in-progress sweater!

  2. That sweater and hat are very nice! I think I’d like to read that book since I loved The Grapes of Wrath so much.

    • The book is fascinating, shows how the Grapes of Wrath was constructed. Also what was happening in John Steinbeck’s life as he wrote, but also gives an insight into the pressures of being a celebrity whist trying to work. Highly recommend it.

  3. thoughts36 said:

    Love the colours in the jumper and hat, they look so cosy and warm too.

  4. Wow! Speedy knitter there. Love the colors. I am sure it will be warm an cozy.

  5. Congrats on your first finish for the year! And so cute, too! Your grandson will look so cute in it.

    • I hope he likes it. His current favourite is a clown jumper I made for him when he was 3 ish and he still wears it, stretched beyond belief!

  6. Love the knitting! If only I could do one so cute in my size! And what a great book suggestion for my son who likes hemingway… Keep Knitting!

  7. Lovely knitting and chunky or not that’s super speedy! I love biographies – what a treat when it’s your favourite author.

  8. Well done on a double finish of jumper and hat 🙂 I love these variegated wools. So pretty, especially for the little ones.

  9. This is so lovely!
    I love it!! x x

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

