Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

After all that challenging  last year, this year it’s about FUN!

17 swims

16 hour-long walks thanks Sandra from Wild Daffodil  for this idea.

15 already owned books read- I have read a lot of books this year, by and large borrowed from the library, especially once I started my read through the alphabet challenge, which will continue this year, currently reached W. But in the meantime I have acquired two enormous heaps of books which are cluttering up the place. Time to read them.

14 lbs lost- ever the optimist.

13 homemade cards

12 Photograph posts of villages. Time to explore some local villages and share them . I noticed that some readers enjoy these village pictures when they have appeared from time to time. So I figured it would be nice to make them centre stage this year.

11 days out- Always fun to go out for the day. Beats weeding anytime!

10 New things- this can be anything from food to experiences to places. Time for adventure.

9 crochet/knitting projects- I flippin’ well will finish that cardigan!

8 other craft projects

7 sewing projects- I challenge myself to conquer zips this year.

6 non fiction books read

5 research the answer to five questions about my own family history

4 jolly good sort outs, again thanks to Sandra for this one. I shall tackle the tip that is the spare room, where I am supposed to be crafting.

3 find three interesting things- thanks to Murtaghsmeadow for this idea

2 picnics

1 boat ride- rail and bus journeys are so last year!

0 purchases of any sort for new craft sewing or knitting projects, until all stash is used up or I need something to finish something, eg card/ buttons. This is not going to be fun, but it has to be done.

So that’s my 17 for 2017. Wish me luck. And good luck to anyone else brave enough to blog their goals for 2017. Please feel free to leave a link to your 17 for 2017(or similar) post in the comments.

 

 

Comments on: "17 for 2017- The Beginning." (38)

  1. claire93 said:

    I’ll enjoy seeing how you do with all those challenges throughout the year ^^

  2. Well, that’s all very inspiring!And it really does look you’re encouraging yourself to have fun and enjoy life, not just make a list of chores for yourself–good for you!

  3. Good luck! I’m going to do this, I just need to write my ideas down. I think I had a conversation with Wild Daffodil about this a while back and thought it sounded fab! Must get thinking. 😊

  4. Wood So Wild said:

    Good luck! Here are my goals for 2017: https://woodsowild.wordpress.com/2017/01/01/17-for-2017/

  5. I love your 17 in 2017. So clever. I should think about a list for myself. I absolutely love the 0 purchases in 2017 and would love to pin that one on myself, but January is my birthday month and I already have plans on what to purchase at my LNS for my birthday shopping spree! Good luck with your goals for the year. I will be checking in on you to see how you are doing 😉 My main goal for this year is to DEclutter. I am giving myself the whole year to do it, too 😉 Happy New Year and may it be healthy, happy, full of love and goals met ❤

    • I think everyone I know wants to declutter. We can’t move for stuff, the stuff our boys left behind, the just in case I need it stuff, the stuff I do need but not quite yet stuff, the sentimental stuff, just well stuff. Good luck.

  6. Good luck is duly wished. I look forward to keeping up with your progress.

  7. That’s a great set of goals, I can see the last one – zero – is going to by a toughy! I mentioned in a reply to you just now that I’m planning a Dewsbury meet up, maybe that could be one of your days out – but it would be tough because of your last goal. But last year it was all about meeting people for me and I didn’t make any purchases on the day. Good luck with them all. 🙂

    • A Dewsbury meet up? Did I mention that if my granddaughter needs new dresses I may have to make an exception if it turns out fabric is needed too? No, how remiss of me. Sounds a super idea!

  8. Murtagh's Meadow said:

    Excellent list. I particularly like 10, 2 and 1. I have been compiling mine but still lacking a couple so I may have to borrow an idea or two!! Looking forward to reading your progress over the year!

  9. You always inspire me with these posts. Looking forward to watching your progress. Still working on my own goals list but not sure I can break it down like that.

  10. Oo I love this idea format. You’re also going to be a very busy lady this year!! Good luck 🙂

  11. Helen Johnstone said:

    Found your blog via Postcsrd from Gibraltar as am interested in photo challenge. Not sure I find I could stick to achieving this but am giving it some serious thought. Thanks

  12. I’m with you on the zips and ‘jolly good sort outs’ but, having failed miserably last year on my own ‘fabric fast’, I’ll leave that one to you 😉 Best of luckQ!

  13. And she’s off! – very happy 2017 to you and Mr E xx

  14. Wish you well for 2017 & your 17 4 2017 😊

  15. […] 16 for 2016 list and it completely inspired me to create my own list for 2017. I also checked out nanacathydotcom to view her list for 2017 and became even more […]

  16. I love the countdown list format for goals! Thanks for sharing it. Sadly I’ve already broken 0, and it’s only Jan 2nd. 🙂

  17. […] has been inspired by Cathy at (https://nanacathydotcom.wordpress.com/2017/01/01/17-for-2017-the-beginning/). It could be anything but I would like to focus on health and researching a couple of health […]

  18. […] 16 for 2016 (and before that in 15 for 2015). So, reading this year’s lists from gillyflower, Nana Cathy, Murtagh’s Meadow and others, I’ve been inspired. As I’ve said, I don’t […]

  19. Love your list Cathy. i’m looking forward to joining in soon. I wondered if you would be interested in this FB Group : https://www.facebook.com/groups/1824349374518656/
    ‘Sunken Lanes and Historic curiosities’, thought you might like to link your Village posts.

  20. […] thing this year.  That is, until I was inspired by fellow bloggers Murtagh’s Meadow and Nanacatthydotcom who hit upon a fun and more thought-provoking way to count down their New Year’s […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

