Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Sometimes it is hard to believe that a year has passed since I wrote my 16 for 2016. The theme if theme there was to challenge myself.  So how did I do?

16 swims- I achieved this in April and kept swimming every week until the Autumn.Then the water seemed too cold and I was busy with other things. But there is always 2017!

15 walks- This goal changed several times. I wanted to walk more. I tried various ways of wording it before just settling on 15 walks. Which I achieved, with some super walks.

Lastingham 13.8.16 011

Can’t beat a moorland heather walk to my mind.

14 lbs lost. I started so well, but then came Easter, holidays and Christmas and well, it’s a fail. At a mere 3 lbs  .

13 outings- I visited some truly lovely places, but the one I keep coming back to was the Royal Yacht Britannia, which has featured many times in my pictures for the photo challenge.

Coffee, Britannia

12 cookery posts- I managed five, before realising that actually I don’t have anything much to say about cookery.

11 flower photographs achieved with ease , so many lovely flowers to photograph.

wales May 16 119

10 handmade cards- achieved. I love making and sending handmade cards.

9 Garden posts- Achieved. I really enjoyed documenting our garden,the birds, the frogs, the plants and the produce. We are still enjoying the runner beans I froze and the leeks will be ready any day soon. So lucky to have a garden.

8.6.16 026

Our favourite blackbird with white feathers enjoying a drink.

8 stash/kit busting projects. I had such a clear idea at the start of the year what I was going to do, and then I fell in love with my scraps and became scrap happy.

13.6.16 001

and that is the joy of writing the goals for the year in the way I do. You just don’t know what will happen. Many thanks to Kate for encouraging me to fall in love with my fabric stash. Shame about the kits!

7 sewing/ embroidery projects- I was determined this year to master buttonholes on my scary not so new sewing machine. I made the same dress three times for my granddaughter. Oh yes I cracked buttonholes and completed 7 sewing projects.

Florrie and bag16.6.16 014wales May 16 131

6 acts of kindness- I recorded a couple of mine, two that I witnessed and two that I received. I think the one that moved me most was the lady who bought a pie for the Big Issue lady. But I also loved this.

wales May 16 031

Re use of a phone box, and I gather that there are now a lot of phone boxes available for reuse by local communities.

5- Read five non fiction books-Achieved. I think my favourite was the book about Workhouses, as my Great Grandfather was the clerk to the Guardians of the Pickering workhouse. I later went onto visit the county records office where I read about his interview and appointment to the post and saw what work his job entailed.

4 projects to improve my knitting and crochet skills. Oh my was this the biggest challenge of all. I got to grips with lacy patterns, 4 ply wool and repaired a crochet blanket where the magic circles proved to have been not so magic at all. And then there were cables. I didn’t do so bad on the first cable cardigan I made for master T.

27.4.16 00727.4.16 008

Then I got over ambitious and started on the white cable cardigan for Miss F. Well there are cables and bobbles on the front , on the back and on the sleeves. I have at least stopped dropping stitches from the cable needle but oh I have to count every stitch and not lose my place in the pattern. And why on earth did I opt for white? The most useful part of all of this was discovering that I knit to relax and unwind. It’s therapeutic, it’s the way I settle down for the night. But not on cables. So I unearthed a knitting project to help me relax , and got on with the dreaded cables in afternoons when I could. First of my projects to relax by was the village I made been wanting to make for well over 30 years. Oh yes Miss F’s Dad should have played with this as a boy if only his Mum had pulled her finger out.

village-green-project-019

And hot on the tracks of this came the Tinsel obsession. Yarn by King Cole.

5-10-16-00312-10-16-00219-10-16-0092-11-16-00128-11-2016-003wykeham-dec2016-00418-12-16-008

I think this might have played itself out to be replaced with an obsession for a yarn called Party Time by James Brett. And still I knit the cable cardigan. I have reached the raglan edge of sleeve number one.

3 things from my Bucket list- I achieved this, I visited Edinburgh, swam weekly for two months and made a cheese souffle, which I decapitated getting out of the oven! NB to self remove shelves above the souffle.

13.1.16 008

2 Railway journeys- I achieved this and renewed my rail card. I visited my son in Reading and we went to Wembley by train. and I went to Edinburgh by train too.

wembley 2016 009

1 bus journey- we had a lot of bus travel around Edinburgh!

0 magazine purchases. Oh yes happy dance for this. Really really hard to resist. I love a craft magazine and a big pile of second-hand ones called out to me at the Whitby Quilt exhibition. I walked away from them…..

So that was the year that was. Will there be a 17 for 2017. Oh yes!

Hope you achieved some of what you wanted this year. Have a great last night for 2016, and all the best for a very Happy New Year 2017. Remember if you hit rock bottom in 2016, the only way is up!

And thank you all for reading my blog and making such encouraging comments. Without you I would not have achieved the things I did.

 

 

 

 

 

Comments on: "16 for 2016! The final countdown." (27)

  1. My goodness–you did SO well with your goals! And it’s interesting to me, to see that you learned quite a lot about yourself along the way, what you like and don’t like, etc. I will be very interested in learning what your new list looks like and following your progress. Happy New Year!

  2. you did so well on the challenge you set yourself! And I’m with you on the cookery theme – I enjoy watching other people cook, am only too happy to sit down and eat what they cooked, but find it so hard to get enthusiastic about a recipe myself lol.

    • Thanks Claire. It was a just a feeling that either I had said it all before or some cookery blogger had said it far better than I could.

  3. Congratulations on the successful challenge. Very creative & inspiring

  4. Cathy, I love the way you set up your goals, and that they were for your whole person. 17 in 2017, I need to consider how this might apply to me as well! Loved following you progress…congratulations on achieving so many!!!

  5. You did brilliantly with this challenge! Can’t wait to see what 2017 brings. 😊

  6. Wood So Wild said:

    Way to go! You’ve inspired me to start my own 17 for 2017!

  7. All the best for 2017! x

  8. Thanks for sharing.Bravo to you for a splendid 2016 and Cheers for a great 2017! I do look forward to reading your posts. Happy New Year!

  9. A great achievement Cathy. I love the phone box share library.

  10. I think your achievements were remarkable this last year. It was a transitory year for me and I’m thinking this next one will be much more productive. I’ve already started listing the goals for next year but have not broken them down the way you have. I like that you can see where you just are not so interested as with the cooking new things. I have walls of books in my home but you will find fewer than a handful on cooking. I am just not interested in it either. I’m hoping to have time to “think” this year. 🙂 Looking forward to reading your seventeen. Happy New Year, Marlene

  11. Not buying any magazines is amazing! I am such a magazine junkie and sometimes buy the same magazine twice! Definitely need to think about restricting magazines this year 😉

  12. So many of your goals were achieved and I’m most impressed by the magazine ban – I could NOT stick to that!

  13. Brilliant round up of your 16 in 2016, it’s amazing how much you’ve achieved. Isn’t blogging great, I’m sure we wouldn’t be half as productive if we didn’t cheer each other along. 🙂

  14. Helen Johnstone said:

    I love this, especially your comment about cookery blog posts, I can so sympathise with that.

  15. [J+D] Good photo of Hebridean sheep amongst the heather! Any walk that includes Hebridean sheep and heather is a good walk indeed!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

