Life and Thyme!

Photo Challenge- Spirit

The last prompt for the 2016 Photo Challenge was Spirit.

In 2009 my husband Mr E had cancer. He had a gruelling six months of chemo and radiotherapy. He had been self-employed so we were dependent on my earnings and I had to keep working whilst supporting him. Our youngest had just started uni. My step-mother had a stroke and was in hospital too.  It was a question of heads down and keep going a day at a time.

And then it was all over. He had an all clear. Our eldest son got married and my lovely in-law family gave us a holiday in Crete.

What sustained us through all of this was our faith and our love of the natural world.

brugge-09-279

This church set amongst the trees and mountains of Crete, taken on that holiday in 2009, encompass this perfectly.

Next year Sandra and I have devised a new photo challenge and we very much hope you will take part. Once again here are the prompts.

one-a-week

Don’t forget to leave a link to your Spirit picture in the comments.

Happy Snapping 2017!

 

 

 

Comments on: "Photo Challenge- Spirit" (22)

  1. Wow–that really is a perfect shot, given the story you shared!

  2. notskinnyvicky said:

    Hi Merry Christmas and happy 2017. I would really like to take part in your photo challenge next year. How do I go abouts adding/tagging photos.

    • Oh we would love to have you along. Next year we will leave a link to posts in the comments section of Sandra’s blog at Wild Daffodil. I will put a link up in my first entry. But of course I am happy to have links on my blog too. Good luck.

  3. a lovely photo and a wonderful way to end what must have been a grueling time for you all. Wonderful in-laws! So glad Mr. E beat that big C.

  4. 2009 must have been a very very lousy year for your family. I’m glad it’s in the past xxx

  5. A gorgeous picture — what a special trip that must have been!

  6. A perfect ending to your 2016 challenge! Beautiful photo and a happy ending to boot!

  7. What a difficult time that must have been, so happy you’ve come through it. Lovely, lovely post! Hopping back onto the Photo Challenge for 2017!

  8. What a beautiful image to remember your strong family spirit at that time Cathy. Here is the link to my contribution https://haikuhound.wordpress.com/2016/12/30/spiritual-vision/ . I thought I had better get back for the last challenge when I read your inspirational story.

  9. Wow what a difficult time you had. So evocative with that image too. I would love to join in your challenge next year 😊

  10. […] for 2016 is SPIRIT and boy do a lot of us need some. See the other brilliant images for SPIRIT at https://nanacathydotcom.wordpress.com/2016/12/29/photo-challenge-spirit/#comments For next years challenge planned by Cathy and Sandra visit Cathy’s blog at  […]

  11. No need to tag, just leave your link

  12. Perfect image to go with your life journey – glad to hear Mr E has had the all-clear:)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

