Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

This week!

It turned quite chilly here this week. Time for some hunkering down, with all things woolly and stitchery!

I started with a little Secret Santa stitching.

16-11-16-001

Project bag from my Secret Santa last year being put to good use again. Thanks Tialys

Then some more Secret Santa stitching.

16-11-16-007

Then I got distracted and made up this cushion. I had bought the front piece at the Whitby Quilt Exhibition earlier this year.

16-11-16-009

Front and back

16-11-16-010

Anyone would think we were nearing Christmas. There was a super moon this week, which did make an appearance here. Despite my best efforts to take a picture on my little camera, I failed so no picture of a super moon. There was some baking of jammy buttons.

scagglethorpe-001

Which nicely emptied three jars of jam which were lurking in the fridge, homemade plum , rhubarb and ginger and shop bought raspberry. I needed the jars for … secret santa

On Friday I attended my family history group meeting which was held in a freezing cold village hall.

scagglethorpe-007

The talk was about DNA testing to trace your origins. Maybe I will do this one day. I would love to know if I have any Viking ancestors.

Finally there was some more crocheting going on. Three more blocks for the Deco blanket. Colours are inspired by heather on theΒ  North York Moors and yarn is by Stylecraft .

 

scagglethorpe-011

Another tinsel Owl arrived last night, but she is exhausted and not up to posing for her picture today, Maybe next week.

Hope you had a great week and wish you all the best for next week. Love to hear what you have been up too.

My coming week is going to be Busy! Bring it on!

Comments on: "This week!" (29)

  1. You have been busy!!

  2. It’s gotten cold here, too, and I am really focusing on the crafts as well. I love seeing glimpses of your projects.

  3. Yes, I’m with you on hunkering down and focussing on some serious crafting – my two stitching santa recipients will both have some handmade goodies, too. Isn’t it fun knowing we’ve all got a craft related present to open on Christmas Day?

  4. You’ve been really busy, I live your projects. Lucky person getting you as their secret Santa! 😊

  5. I’m loving following the Stitching Santas gradually building up – I am in awe of the amount of thought/time/love that goes into each and every one.

  6. Christmas is only one month away and so many projects to finish. You at least, are well ahead of the game. By the time I got to the bottom of the page, I was ready for a nap. You are one busy woman! My daughter was talking about the DNA testing too. She definitely has a viking in the family. And her brother too. πŸ™‚

  7. you have been busy ^^ and I love the photo of the village hall.

  8. Some nice sewing going on over there, but the jammy cookies really caught my eye πŸ™‚

  9. Jammy buttons! I love them, especially when there’s as many as you’ve baked so I can get stuck in with a cup of coffee! You’re making me want to get baking! πŸ™‚

  10. Wow – what a busy week!

  11. Hi Cathy! It looks like you had a great week. I love hearing all about it. Love and Hugs, Tamara

  12. Ooooh, such a busy lady. Love the little snippets of your secret stitching. And oh yes, the cookies made me hungry. We’ve had our first snow today (all day!) and it is very cold here, too.

  13. Those jammy buttons look very tasty. I’m happy to see the little project bag being put to good use – it’s such a treat to see something you’ve made being appreciated by somebody. I have ideas for my stitching (and knitting) santa partners but haven’t actually started on them yet as I’m making things like a woman possessed for a fund raising event this weekend at the moment. After that, I can concentrate.

  14. I’d really like to have my DNA tested too, but the kits I’ve seen are expensive. Have you been given a recommended company?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

