Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Yarn Along!

9-11-16-001

The cable cardigan progresses slowly, just reached the shaping for the raglan on the right side.

Still reading through the alphabet. Q proved really easy to find a book. The library gave a choice of 5 authors. So my Q is for Anthony Quinn and the book is The Streets. I have just finished watching the series The Victorian Slum on BBC 2. This book is set in a Victorian Slum and the protagonist works as a researcher into conditions of the poor in the 1870s in a London Slum. Talk about coincidence. The book is really interesting. and the characters engaging.

Meantime I have a TAHDAH moment. Rachel had gifted me some crochet blocks. Here they are all joined together in three blankets and edged.

rachels-blankets-001

This one is destined for a care home as a lap blanket.

rachels-blankets-003

This one for my granddaughter Little Miss F.

rachels-blankets-002

And this one is a sofa snuggly for Mr E.

Looking again at these blocks  which I also crocheted in Rachel’s CAL 3 years ago reminded me that I always intended to crochet one of the blankets in the book 200 Crochet Blocks by Jan Eaton. I have made a start. The blanket is called Art Deco. I am joining the blocks and darning in the ends as I go.

9-11-16-003

What’s he doing here, that’s not the picture of my blocks. Honestly House Elves aren’t what they are cracked up to be.

9-11-16-002

That’s better. Now I know I said that was the end of Tinsel yarn for the time being. Seriously did you think I would keep to that.

2-11-16-001

Now I thought the owl said he was called Ollie and off he flew to his new home. What’s with this tinsel yarn.  She told me a little white fib, apparently she is called Olivia. Well I never!

Now that’s it with the tinsel yarn. Honestly!  Yes really!

Joining with Ginny for Yarn Along

 

 

Comments on: "Yarn Along!" (14)

  1. So glad they’re off to be used and appreciated. Good work Cathy! Enjoy your snuggly throw Mr E. X

    • It was firmly wrapped round his legs last night, since the chemo he had seven years ago he has really felt the cold. Thank you, you did the hard work.

  2. itsallaboutpurple said:

    so many beautiful projects!! i really like the blankets!!!

  3. Adorable! I bet there is still some tinsel hidden in a drawer or basket somewhere?

  4. Olivia has swooped in and snuggled up to another owl already – she is such a flirt, well with all that tinsel she was bound to be – thank you so much Cathy!!! She makes me smile so much! Photos in a blog post soon. ❤

  5. Big smile on my face seeing that little sparkly elf. And as for owlie – well she’s in a class of her own. Gold class 🙂
    Will take your book suggestion to heart and put it on my 2017 list. And looking forward to seeing the cable cardi finished. Love white and combined with cables it’s extra special.
    Cathy

    • I hope you enjoy the book. It’s very good. The white cable cardigan is pretty but I have to concentrate the whole time. I have been doing it for ages now as a whole village and then some tinsel creations side tracked me!

  6. Wow they are all beautifully made. Thank you for stopping by my blog today and clicking the Like Button. Blessings Always, Mtetar

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

