Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

This Week!

Despite life’s little troubles the good life in retirement continues. I have been lending moral suppport to a friend this week whose Mum (91) is in hospital with a chest infection. Her prognosis looks good.

So…  I had one of these this week.

my-birthday-24-10-2016-003

With some  of these

my-birthday-24-10-2016-002

The first of three bouquets as it happens. Gorgeous. And some presents including these

my-birthday-24-10-2016-005

The top book is for the poetry group I have just started to attend. I’ll write another post about the other book later.

my-birthday-24-10-2016-006

I chose to go for a walk as the day was mild. We went to the forest and up to the Bridestones.

my-birthday-24-10-2016-009

Signs that it is Autumn  everywhere. Just where does all the fungi come from?

my-birthday-24-10-2016-011

There is something very other worldly about fungi I always think.

my-birthday-24-10-2016-017

Afterwards we went to the New Inn in Thornton Dale for lunch. I love the sandwiches and salad (ok the chips) there. As it so happens my short-lived career as a waitress was here. At just the time this was written!

my-birthday-24-10-2016-018

It was then ruled over by a temporary manager who went by the name of Mrs Driscoll aka the Dragon.

I lasted three days. Fortunately just a holiday job. I became a child walker after that. Literally I took two children a walk every afternoon whilst their Mum had a nap!

my-birthday-24-10-2016-019

One of my sons used to have a girlfriend who asked to be taken to an Emmerdale type pub every time she came North. I guess the New Inn meets that criteria too.

my-birthday-24-10-2016-020

Thornton Dale Village Green. Couldn’t resist the colours. We had an evening meal out too, but I forgot the camera.

29-10-2016-001

Unbelievably that is our  garden  this week. The weather is mild and long may it continue. So mild in fact a

29-10-2016-005

Lupin has reappeared! What the ??? So no excuses for not being outside pruning and tidying up.

29-10-2016-006

Think we should go to the tip, but Mr E is all for having a bonfire.

One more treat this week

29-10-2016-010

A trip to the theatre. Now I know I have said this before,  but the Northern Broadsides ( based in Halifax, West Yorkshire) are brilliant. I haven’t laughed so much in ages.  And maybe they will come to a theatre near you. Link here- http://www.northern-broadsides.co.uk/

Hope you have all had a good week. Be really happy if you leave a link to a post about your week, or tell me what you have been up too.

Have a super weekend.

Comments on: "This Week!" (18)

  1. Belated happy birthday to you. I love birthdays. Looks like you’ve had a wonderfilled month. Autumn is a favorite time of year. Your lunch looks really good to me as well.

  2. claire93 said:

    hope your Mum’s chest infection clears up

  3. Happy birthday week to you! We too, have had unusually beautiful weather this autumn, though I haven’t out in it much, except to walk Max, who is either grinning like a fool because we walked, or looking at me like I am torturing him, because we haven’t….corgis!
    As you have seen, I’ve been chained to my sewing machine trying to finish a quilt for a wedding next Sunday. I’ve had a good but long day, and have the blocks in the main body quilted, and am now working on the sashing.

  4. Thanks for sharing your outing and all the lovely pictures, it really is a day brightener!!

  5. It looks like your birthday week was perfect–great weather and a variety of fun outings! I’m so happy for you!

  6. Belated best wishes for a continuing lovely weekend, and delightful birthday celebrations! xx

  7. Happy Birthday! I’ve got that Staying Alive book of poetry too, and it’s wonderful – enjoy!

  8. Belated Happy Birthday! Now you mention it, yes fungi are very other worldly. Never thougHt of that before, it you’re totally right.

  9. It looks like you had a very Happy Birthday!! I’ve heard of dog walkers but never child walkers – that woman must really have needed a nap.

  10. Happy belated birthday Cathy! Looks like you’ve had a lovely week. Loved the look of those chips too 🙂

  11. Happy Birthday. Looks like a wonderful day.

  12. Happy belated birthday ♥

  13. Thanks everyone for the Birthday wishes. It was a really pleasant day.

  14. What lovely photos. I could just imagine myself there!!

  15. We’ve enjoyed things we’ve seen at the SJ theatre, it’s got really good acoustics. Happy belated birthday! X

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

