Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Yarn Along!

I knitted the second cottage.

village-green-project-009

So there we have the complete Village Project.

village-green-project-010

Pattern is by a firm called Knitwell and the pattern is in a booklet called Oddments 558. I can’t find it on their webpage, but I have had it a very very very very very LONG time.

But wait..

village-green-project-011

Mary? Whatever is the matter? Your lamb?

village-green-project-012

On the Green and near the road. However did that happen? Boy Blue were you asleep?

village-green-project-013

Never! But who is that roaring down the road. Little Miss F in her car.

village-green-project-014

Stop Please Little Miss F.

village-green-project-015

And she did.

village-green-project-016

Phew said Little Boy Blue.

village-green-project-017

PHEW said Mary

village-green-project-018

Baa said the lamb.

village-green-project-019

Now how on earth do I wrap that lot for Little Miss F?

Figures are from the patterns of Jean Greenhowe

village-green-project-021

I am reading my way through the alphabet. I had reached an author beginning with J. I was reading Henry James and What Maisie Knew. Let’s just say I didn’t get on with this book. Me and Henry James just aren’t meant to be. After 200 pages I couldn’t face one more word. So I read the book I had chosen for K. The Secret Life of Bees. I had seen the film twice and loved it and I love this book. My favourite read this year.

So back to the library for a new letter J. Now this book was the only one I fancied and I didn’t have high hopes for it. Think Bridget Jones younger sister goes to Canada.Β  But I am really enjoying it, pure fantasy but with some interesting themes to make you think.

Linking with Ginny for Yarn Along

 

Comments on: "Yarn Along!" (24)

  1. wow that was close shave for Mary’s sheep!
    Brilliant knitting!

  2. Your village project is just lovely!

  3. Wow! What a gift that will be for miss F. I would pack each one in a little box and put them all in a big box for lots of unwrapping. I’m the devilish sort of wrapper. Loved “The secret life of bees” Haven’t read the other and won’t now. I hate slogging through books. If they don’t get me right away, I give them back. Too many surprisingly delicious books out there.

  4. Love your little story and what patience to knit all those teensy things and then stuff them. Toy stuffing and me don’t mix.
    I loved The Secret Life of Bees and bought it for my Kindle when it was about 99p – I’d never heard of it and had no great expectations. I’ve not seen the film but I will seek it out now.

  5. How cute!!! I love the little one in her car. She will adore it all.

  6. Absolutely charming! And what a wonderful gift. πŸ˜‰

  7. Fantastic!!! My favourite is the car, but the whole project and the story to go with it is really lovely. Full of admiration!

  8. What a lovely story and great present. I hadn’t realised it was a pattern out of a book but you have put it together beautifully and the added characters are such fun!

  9. Love the present…I would wrap it into several smaller packages and give them to her in order so it builds as she unwraps. πŸ™‚ and I know a wonderful author for the letter H you might think about. Kristin Heitzmann

  10. oh, I love the village and all the details! Miss F is lucky lucky. But what I love most of all? The pompom trees – so cute, so brilliant!

  11. corrineappleby said:

    How cute!!

  12. That village turned out amazing! Such attention to detail! And I loved Secret Life of Bees, too. Do you like mysteries? P.D. James wrote British mystery classics and her name starts with a J!

  13. Wow! Your little village project is amazing!! I don’t think (in fact I’m sure) I would have the patience to knit, sew together, stuff and embellish all those little items. Wonderful!! And I, too loved the Secret Life of Bees… xoxo Silke

  14. Thanks so much everyone for your lovely comments. Happy girl picture to follow on Wednesday

  15. Haha brilliant knitting!

  16. Brilliant! Love your village and the little story! 😊

  17. Just love it!!!!! Once I started knitting a farm, but never finished it! Your village is so nice!

  18. This is just so delightful! I love it! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  19. This was such an interesting creation. Very cute and very clever.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

