Life and Thyme!

16 for 2016- September

It’s been a tough old month and I haven’t wanted to post much. My brother-in-law died. Very, very unexpectedly, whilst we were away. He was 67. Very healthy, barely a day’s illness. He ate sensibly, exercised regularly, cycled, was a Morris Dancer, didn’t smoke, didn’t drink to excess or take drugs, he did play a violin, and had a full and happy life. And then whilst out cycling to a supermarket, he had a massive stroke, and that was that. He leaves behind a widow, three children and three grand daughters. The funeral was last week. Whilst we were all in shock, he did have a top-notch send off with Morris Dancing and oh so much beautiful music. You can’t play violin with no less than three different groups and not have music at your wake. So there we are. A lesson to be learned- Live life  to the full, and enjoy every moment.

It was family flowers only, but each branch of the family provided ,via the florist,  a basket of plants which were joined together across the top of the coffin. Then we were all asked to take our basket home and plant the plants as a living memorial. I had the perfect places for our plants.

village-green-project-004

and

village-green-project-007

You may recognise both spots from my garden posts.

Knitting keeps you calm, but then you knew that. I have finally finished the Village Green Project, more on that tomorrow.

Beans galore have been frozen and tomatoes by the kilo consumed, mostly as soup.

Lots of walking too. So the 15 weeks of walks, total is now 9

And I made a card for my Grand daughter’s birthday. So that is 10 handmade cards – Achieved.

village-green-project-020

Not much of an update on individual goals. However, before our world went topsy-turvy  I had done some Big Thinking. This year my goals had all been about challenging myself, and as this has been quite successful I was ready to start some new things. I am so happy that I have been accepted as a library volunteer. Our local council has cut the library budget to the bone and from next April we will just have one paid librarian. So it’s a question of volunteer or loose it. I remember the day the library first opened when I was a child and going into a room Full of books and being told I could borrow them for free. How can I not volunteer -to  deprive children of that wonderful world of books, or stop the elderly from borrowing their large print books , no, not to be allowed,  I had to do it. So I have spent this morning there amongst ordance survey maps,don’t ask,  whilst happily chatting about books.

I have also joined the U3A, lifelong learning for oldies. So far I have been to a group for Family History. Am wondering about a poetry group perhaps?

And finally look what I won in the Simply Hooked giveaway

village-green-project-001

Isn’t he the most wonderful spider ever and I know a little boy who will love him, just in time for Halloween. Thank you Jenny.

Roll on October and a wonderful Autumn.

 

 

Comments on: "16 for 2016- September" (17)

  1. So sorry to hear about your brother-in-law; similar story with my father-in-law. You must be feeling devastated. Lovely idea with the plants though and great that you are helping with the library. The same thing is happening in Southampton but not to the libraries that I use.

  2. Gosh what a shock! It sounds like a fantastic send off though. Earthquakes in the family like that do make things go topsy-turvy for a while, so good you have your knitting to bring things into balance again. I love the idea of the plants in baskets and them being planted.
    Well done with the cards, the library and U3A – that spider made me smile. 🙂

  3. Oh, I am so sorry to hear of your loss. He sounds like a fun guy, and I am sure he will be much missed. However – when I go, I want Morris dancers! What a way to celebrate a life lived fully. Glad you have your knitting and your garden and all of your other activities to distract you from life’s trials and sorrows.

  4. I am so sorry to hear about your brother in law – life is very odd, strange and unfair as to who die early, whatever their healthy lifestyle. Heartbreaking for all his family to come to terms with – but, as others have said, it sounds like it was a fitting sendoff. I worked for Devon Library services for many many years, and have been very sad to see how library services have been cut everywhere – so I do wish you well (and admire you) in your new role as a library volunteer. I’m not surprised to hear you spent your morning amid Ordnance Survey maps – sign of an excellent library.

  5. I am so sorry for your loss. It sounds like he was well loved and will be greatly missed.

  6. So sorry to hear of your sudden loss. I hope all your fabulous memories help you and your family through this awful time. My job taught me the hard way to cherish every moment, as we don’t know what’s around the corner.

  7. I am very sorry for your loss. May your memories of this talented man be a comfort during this difficult time.

  8. So sorry to hear about your brother-in-law – a sudden loss like that comes as such a shock to everybody and really makes you stop and think. What a wonderful idea, though, to have flowers and plants to take away as a living memorial.

  9. So very sorry about your family’s loss. But I’m glad your brother-in-law had such a meaningful and memorable send-off.

  10. I keep trying to send this message of sympathy. So sorry – and yet pleased for you that your brother-in-law had such a thoughtful send-off.

  11. Thanks everyone for your kind thoughts. K was a lovely chap. I had known Mr E for over a year before I met his brother. I needed to move all my student paraphenalia from Cambridge to Manchester. K drove down from Coventry, having never met me, then transported me to Manchester. On arrival he then cooked a meal for Mr E and me. He was the best man at our wedding and godfather to our first son. A rock in our life.

  12. My dearest condolences to you and your family. What a beautiful tribute to K and a lovely garden. Bless you for your volunteering at your library. We have the same issues over here. Keep moving forward. Cheers

  13. Oh, I hate that story about losing your brother-in-law! The suddenness of it–too sad and shocking. He packed a lot into what sounds like a wonderful life and, you’re right, there’s a lesson here we all need to learn–live big and well while we can! And you’re doing just that, with your hobbies and new directions.

  14. This has been a season of loss for so many. I can see through your words that your brother-in-law lived a full life and you have many good memories that will eventually bring comfort, smiles and even laughter in the years to come. Hugs to you now, and prayers for peace and comfort.

  15. Cathy can I add my thoughts to the others here? Such a sad time. I am glad that you are able to bring back happy memories of him, and hope these will be with you in the weeks and months to come.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

