Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Yarn Along!

17.8.2016 002

So for my Village Green I now have three trees to go with the Green, the road and the pond. Under construction now is the first of two cottages.

17.8.2016 003

I love the pattern for the bricks and it is unbelievably simple. No carrying yarn across the back as you simply slip the stitch in the dark brown rows. Genius.

On the book front of My Read through the Alphabet personal challenge is I for Kazio Ishiguro. He wrote Remains of the Day, if the name is familiar. The Buried Giant is his latest book, and it is a bit weird. Set in Saxon England where people still believe in dragons and ogres, or are they real, an elderly couple go on a journey to be with their son in a nearby village. The land is beset with a Mist of Forgetfulness meaning that people cannot remember their past. I am not a big fan of fantasy novels. Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter being the exception. Not certain I will make it to the end of this book.

Here are my trees just in case a mist of forgetfulness has beset this blog.

17.8.2016 004

Joining with Ginny as per for Yarn Along

Comments on: "Yarn Along!" (25)

  1. Oh how cute!

  2. I love your knitted village and am really looking forward to watching it grow over the weeks. I am so pleased I found you via Yarn Along

  3. Can’t wait to see the finished project!

  4. What a good idea! Would you mind sharing the pattern for the brick cottage? I’ve been looking for a pattern like this for years!

  5. wow – you are so right, this is far more than a blanket, it is amazing. πŸ™‚ love the trees, and the cottage will be fab as well.

  6. Quite a feat, and so adorable a concept! Thank you for our periodic updates. πŸ’•

  7. Those trees are adorable!!! I think I live in the mist of forgetfulness!!!

  8. I’m loving the trees!

  9. I love the trees – and the brickwork looks amazing!

  10. I love your trees! πŸ™‚

  11. Oh how lovely, the trees, the grass and the bricks – can’t wait to see the end result. The book sounds interesting too. πŸ™‚

  12. Aw! Love those trees! The Buried Giant is the next book on our book groups list!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

