Life and Thyme!

Yarn Along!

Fountains abbey july 2016 038

Last time I wrote a Yarn Along post I was knitting a cable cardigan for my granddaughter. It has a 12 line pattern repeat and requires total concentration, meaning I could only manage an hour at most in the afternoon ,at a time. I found I was really and I mean really missing the type of knitting I do in the evening, which is so relaxing and totally de-stresses me. After a few nights of twiddling my thumbs and feeling down in the dumps, there was only one thing to do. Start something else…. And what better to start than a restart. Now I have been meaning to make this thing since my oldest boy was a little boy and if I say he’s now 37, you might agree it was time to go from thought to action. So I have knitted 7 x 5 squares in various green woo/patternsl and am now stitching them together. The next bit of knitting will be grey. And that’s all I am saying till my next yarn along post.

Meantime I have started rather an odd reading adventure. I was finding it hard to choose my books from the library. I couldn’t find any by my favouirte authors . What to do? Now this will sound daft but actually it’s turning out brilliantly. I am reading through the alphabet. I  started at A and so on through the alphabet, and I have to choose the next book by an author whose surname is B, then C ,then D and so on. The last one I read was The Danish Girl by David Evershoff. If it hadn’t been the turn for E  I would never have found this book and I really enjoyed it. I have now started my choice for F. I had read Georgy Girl by Margaret Forster but nothing else. What a nitwit, I am really enjoying it so far. If you would like to see the other books I have read this year you can find a brief description in the Books page above.

Joining with Ginny for Yarn Along

Comments on: "Yarn Along!" (12)

  1. what a great idea, and a way to discover or rediscover great stories. 🙂 love the 37 year old idea of a green blanket, it is pretty. 🙂

  2. I love how you are finding new authors! My library does Biblio Bingo in the wintertime. Each bingo square is a category with books the librarians have picked to fit that category. Once you read a book, you get a stamp for that category on your bingo sheet. Get 4 stamps in a row and you win a prize. It’s a lot of fun and has introduced me to some new authors over the years.

  3. Your blanket is really pretty, especially the way you have matched up the shades of green and the stitches! And I also like how you are checking out new authors. I may have to try that. Most of mine come from reading blogs and having to check out books that others have read.

  4. Have you read the book “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn”? I seem to remember that the main character uses your approach in the library, too, but her goal is to read ALL the books! The author is Betty Smith, for when you get to S in your alphabet . . .

  5. My mom loved to death but she had arthritis in her hands and could only in it for a little bit at a time. But she sure enjoyed it. She said it was so relaxing!

  6. I love the idea of reading through the alphabet. It certainly broadens your horizons. That green blanket is very pretty. What a great way to incorporate various yarns and patterns.

  7. What a great idea. Are you also only reading books with ‘girl’ in the title? 😉 Love the blanket.

  8. I love the blanket, especially all the greens 🙂
    I also loved your idea of reading authors based on the alphabet, though I have to confess that, as I’ve organised my bookshelves this way, anyway, I guess I’m doing the same thing – though with known and favourite authors I love 🙂

  9. I have the audio book to listen to sometime, did you enjoy this book?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

