Life and Thyme!

Whitby Quilt Show-2016

The Queen Bee Quilters are holding a quilt show this weekend. The theme was a Stitch in Time. I just had to go.

The show began with

Whitby quilt exhibtion, july 16 028

A display of a Stitch through time!  Then it was onto the quilts. Here are my favourites.

Whitby quilt exhibtion, july 16 031

Sammy Snail , story book, From a pattern by Jenny Haskins and stitched by Margaret Peel

Whitby quilt exhibtion, july 16 032

Stitched by Mariola Leeman, her first quilt made for her son who loves bright colours and chillis.

Whitby quilt exhibtion, july 16 033

This was a late entry so I can’t remember who stitched it but I recall it was made for a granddaughter. Now what girl would not love this?

Whitby quilt exhibtion, july 16 034

Springtime, stitched by Liz Petherick from a pattern bought in New Zealand.

Whitby quilt exhibtion, july 16 037

Beside the Sea stitched by a group called Creative Stitchers

Whitby quilt exhibtion, july 16 041

Stitched by Sarah Slater from a pattern by Lynette Anderson

I loved the words in the middle.

Whitby quilt exhibtion, july 16 042

Whitby quilt exhibtion, july 16 043

Stitched by Judith Clarke for her grandson

Whitby quilt exhibtion, july 16 044

Stitched by Chris Swales, design by Patchwork Chicks and fabric by Lynette Anderson

Whitby quilt exhibtion, july 16 045

Stitched by Jane Snoxell, pattern by Lynette Anderson. Are you spotting a theme here?

Whitby quilt exhibtion, july 16 046

Detail from the last quilt.

Whitby quilt exhibtion, july 16 035

Indeed!

Whitby quilt exhibtion, july 16 048

Agreed.

Now of course there were traders and stalls and of course I made some purchases. Fabric and buttons. I will share those another day. The traders all picked  quilts for an award from each of them and the visitors also got to choose their favourite, and the one with the most votes will get the visitors award. So which one did I pick?

Do you wish you could go, well if you can get to Whitby North Yorkshire, it is open on Sunday too.

Meantime let me leave you with these Christms trees. Here you got to choose your favourite and put coins in the bag next to it to signify a winner. All money to charity. And the winner would be the one with the most coins, not the one with the highest value. Time to empty your pockets of pennies…..

Whitby quilt exhibtion, july 16 030

And although I love those cats, my money went in the bag next to it, all those decoartions were patchwork and the panel was quilted.

And the quilt I choose was the chilli inspired one. Loved the colours, that it was practical and was for her son. The snail very nearly had it though.

One great day out!

 

 

Comments on: "Whitby Quilt Show-2016" (17)

  1. Thanks for the field trip! Very enjoyable. 🙂

  2. Thank you for sharing your visit – particularly love the ‘Creative clutter’ quote – I’m going to adopt that one!!!!

  3. looks like a wonderful day out! I would have had a hard time resisting those two black cats….

  4. What beautiful quilts. thanks for sharing 🙂

  5. Some amazing sewing there. Very impressed!

  6. Love the tour. Thank you!!

  7. Wonderful quilts to see – so imaginative, and so much variety. No 200 has to be my favourite with all those hearts and clothes!

  8. This is interesting, to see how different these are, as a group, from the American quilts I saw at a show a couple weeks ago! These are much softer in color (except the chili one!) and very traditional–they’re lovely!

  9. Enjoyed this so much, particularly some of those witticisms. Thank you so much for taking us along!

  10. I love quilt shows! My mother is a quilter and I so appreciate the time and effort that goes in piecing a piece together. Thanks for sharing!

  11. Loved seeing your quilt show. I am always impressed that as there are so many quilter, no two quilts are alike. I have a license plate frame that says a creative mind is never tidy. Pretty much sums it up. I loved the saying on the quilt too. Thanks for taking us along.

  12. Can’t help but love a good quilt show!

  13. Beautiful quilts! I have never been to a quilt show. I would love to go and see all the beautiful handiwork.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

