Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

16 for 2016- June

OH BOY. What a month! June is quite a hard month for Mr E and me. The second anniversary of my Dad’s death and subsequent funeral ( and I still haven’t finished with his estate), my father in laws birthday ( he died 20 months ago) and Father’s day.

And then topped off very dramatically with the unexpected  vote for the UK to leave the European Union. I have been glued to my TV, in horror a lot of the time, as our political leaders turn on themselves like a pack of well, I don’t like to say dogs ‘cos that’s so not fair on dogs, but you know what I mean. Hopefully they will all get a grip and get on with the task in hand.

Meantime I have been trying to keep calm and crafting on as they say! So here’s the 16 for 16 mid year round up.

16 swims- well I achieved that last month, but am still swimming.

15 x 2 minutes x 5 times a week. That just hasn’t been  happening this year, time to redefine this one. To 15 jolly good walks from June onwards. There was my Buttercup field walk, and several little ones, so I will call that 1

8.6.16 014

14 lbs lost- well it was 8. I  have been off mission this month and it is still 8. Must do better.

13 outings- total unchanged at 8, lots of gardening and some furniture shopping. And we agreed on two purchases- sofa and coffee table. By 2020 we might have managed to finish what we want to do, there again,maybe not…

12 cookery posts- total is now 5, after my lemon extravaganza. Good heavens , I spelt that word right without spell check!

11 Pictures of flowers I am happy with.

6.6.16 007

Honeysuckle, and I have three others to share in this post, giving me 11 in total. So I say ACHIEVED. But there will be more to come I am sure.

6.6.16 009

Inside a poppy. Remember the Somme.

10 handmade cards. 2 more added this month with the cross stitch meerkat and sheep. Which makes 9

9 garden posts- 5 so far with the June one

8 stash/kit busting projects. 3 added this month, with some felt brooches, a dolls dress and a Spring embroidery picture. I am really enjoying using my stash to make something from nothing, as most of the projects use left over bits and pieces. Total 7

7 sewing/ embroidery projects. I made a dress for my grand daughter which gives me a total of 4.

6 Acts of Kindness- achieved last month, but still thinking of new things. I just want to mention food banks. So easy to pop a bit extra into a shopping trolley to donate to those who don’t have enough to eat. I think it is appalling that here in the UK some people don’t have food for three proper meals a day for themselves and their families.

Time for some more flowers I think.

8.6.16 016

Pink Horse Chestnut Blossom

5 Non Fiction Books read. Total unchanged at 3. Too busy reading Fiction. I record my reading in my Books page, and there is a brief description of each one this year too.

4 Projects to improve knitting or crochet skills. I have recently embarked on number 4, say no more, it’s hard.

3 Items from my big bucket list-still 2

2 Railway Journeys- Achieved

1 Bus Journey-0

0 Magazines bought. This is hard, but still zero!

So how are you doing with your goals for this year. Keep plugging away and if you write a post on progress, I would love it if you left a link in the comments section.

Final Flower picture, till the next update.

13.6.16 004

Have a Happy Sunday!

 

 

Comments on: "16 for 2016- June" (14)

  1. Such a lot achieved – despite all the emotional and political upsets – You’re doing well, and I think I must follow with some sort of target list because walks and swims and weight loss have completely dropped off my agenda …… oh dearie dear 😦

    • It is the walking I really need to address. Since our last dog died 7 years ago, I have lost motivation. I used to walk three times a day!

  2. You are doing well Cathy!
    Anniversaries can be difficult, the scents, sounds and activities of the time of year triggers emotions and as you say the political climate is unsettling – it’s all gone very medieval! or perhaps medi-evil! I’m staying positive holding out for an improved way of doing things once they’ve all calmed down and decided to behave like grown-ups. (Hark at Granny here!!)

    I’m finding the commitment of the 16 for 16 and the checking in each month really useful to note the things I thought would be so easy to accomplish and those I need to adjust. Life’s events have a habit of interrupting the flow.

    Your flower photos are really lovely. I love getting inside the poppy.
    After a busy week with the grandchildren, I’m having a blissfully quiet Sunday thank you, and now that the wind has calmed I’ll be happy pottering in the garden.

  3. What a lot you’ve done and are doing–makes me feel like a bit of a slacker! Don’t you love honeysuckle? Such a peculiar and distinctive flower

  4. 16 for 16 amazing idea

  5. It’s so sad that when we lose our loved ones the days that used to be extra happy become extra hard. Hope July brings you lots of happiness. Well done on all the new ticks added to your list.

  6. Cathy, your progress continues to amaze me. Tough to soldier on through anniversaries and other times with special memories, isn’t it. Sending good thoughts your way. Your flowers are absolutely beautiful!

  7. Well done! Beautiful photos too. 😊

  8. Good for you keeping up with your goals! I am just ditzing around this year and not managing to accomplish much. When the news gets me down I turn to pictures of beautiful nature too, just for a breather, so I really appreciated yours in this post!

  9. I do appreciate the lovely photos of flowers! Although you may have not accomplished all of your goals I think you have done a marvelous job.

  10. Here’s mine Cathy: https://daffodilwild.wordpress.com/2016/07/07/16-for-2016-june/

    Hope you are winning with the new computer. 😉

  11. Happy Sunday! …Oh, it’s Friday already. 🙂 Regula

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

