Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Three Things Thursday!

Three things that make me smile: an exercise in gratitude – feel free to steal this idea with wild abandon and fill your blog with the happy“.

I saw this post on Nerd in the Brain, and thought I would share three things that make me happy and for which I am most grateful.

Firstly I live in beautiful North Yorkshire . I never get tired of the scenery, it’s dramatic, pretty and very varied.

6.6.16 015

This valley is near the village of Lockton.

Secondly, I am grateful for my sense of humour. I love the ridiculous, the biazrre and quirkiness. My family call me weird. And when I find something that makes me smile , well I hope it makes others too. Found in the cloakroom / bathroom whatever you wish to call it at the Lockton Tea rooms.

6.6.16 013

Old maps as wallpaper. Ingenious!

And thirdly I am happy that I can make nice things for my grandchildren. Off my knitting needles just this week.

16.6.16 001

Knitted in 4 ply, moss and stocking stitch and with a flower detail. For my grand daughter Little Miss F.

16.6.16 004

And doesn’t it go perfectly with the dress I just made her too.

Please visit Nerd in the Brain for some more happy things.

 

Comments on: "Three Things Thursday!" (33)

  1. I’m so happy you’ve joined the Three Things Thursday fun! And I love, love, love your list for the week. πŸ˜€ (That sweater is adorable!)

    • Thanks for letting us share happiness and gratitude. I am pleased with the cardigan as I haven’t knitted much in 4ply before.

  2. That valley photo is so inviting and one would expect to meet fairies and elves amongst the trees. What a cute outfit for Little Miss F.
    And maps as wallpaper – ingenious indeed!
    πŸ˜€

  3. I love maps too.I can sit looking at Ordnance Survey maps for hours πŸ™‚

  4. I love your three things, and can go along with 1 & 2 myself. Not three though. Can’t knit for toffee. But like Sewing Beside the Sea, I love maps, and find cooking fun too.

  5. We had maps as wallpaper in the ‘play room’ when I was a child but more for education than fun. But I did enjoy them and probably learnt something too!

  6. What a wonderful collection of delights. Your valley is so lush and gorgeous – no wonder you never tire of it. And what a charming outfit you’ve created for your grand daughter. No doubt she’ll be delighted.

  7. Gr8 idea, maps on the wall

    • Isn’t it just. When I said to the owner how much I liked it she told me that an old gentleman had brought her in another so she could keep going!

  8. Great images and what variety Cathy

  9. I’ve been in North Yorkshire and loved it very much. πŸ™‚ Regula

  10. Love the creative use of those maps! I also enjoy making things for other people:)

  11. I’ve been enjoying reading people’s three things–so nice to have more and more positive things to reflect on. Your list is so “you”–a nice reflection of what makes your life happy!

  12. Gratitude is a wonderful thing, isn’t it? I love your list. What a cute sweater. Yes, it is perfect with the dress. β™‘

  13. That’s a wonderful collection of gratitude’s. The vista is wonderful and the sweater is perfect for a granddaughter. It does look lovely with the dress. To be able to knit is a good thing. Someone to knit for, even better. I like the idea of the maps as wallpaper. I’ve been saving some for a craft project but haven’t found my round tuit yet. πŸ™‚

  14. I had to come back here because I could not post a comment on your photo challenge “Heat” Tried several times. I could finally get it open to read it but nothing more. So here is my comment for that post:
    Had some trouble with this link. Tried several ways to connect and the like button just won’t load on here. But I liked it. πŸ™‚ “90F in the shade. Just wonderful.” Not the description I would use for that temp. Anything over 80 is too hot for me. I have been through the Mojave Desert many times and never thought of it as “wonderful”. Many love the desert. I’m more a fan of your green vistas. I’m sure seeing all the differences in the country was fun though.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

