Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Lovely Lemons

Don’t you love lemons? I might have gone a bit overboard yesterday though. First up I made lemon curd. If you have never made lemon curd then do so straight away. It’s gorgeous and knocks the shop stuff into a tin hat. And it’s easy.

Lemon Curd

Grated rind and juice of three large or 4 medium lemons

4 eggs

4oz/100g butter, cut into small pieces

12oz/350g caster sugar.

Put all into a bowl over a pan of simmering water. Stir until sugar is dissolved. Then heat gently for about 20 minutes, until it thickens. I stir it from time to time to see how it’s doing.

Strain into sterilized jars, cover and keep in a fridge. Eat within three weeks.

8.6.16 023

I am ,as many of us are, a big fan of The Great British Bake Off. I was so jealous of the fantastic food mixers that the contestants got to use, that last year Mr E gave me one for Christmas. Was I happy! Then my usual techno fears began and it is now scary new food mixer. I am determined not to be so silly. I have just about mastered the liquidizer bit with soup making, now to tackle the mixer proper. I am making basic Victoria sandwich cakes till I stop being a silly billy. So I made a lemon one and filled it with lemon curd.

8.6.16 024

Then I made some still lemonade. I have been experimenting with this year by year, the first batch I made was too sweet, and by trial and error I have finally come up with the proportions of sugar to lemon juice I am happy with.

Still Lemonade

4 lemons

5 oz sugar

1 1/2 pints of boiling water

Remove the lemon rind with a potato peeler and place in large bowl with the sugar and boiling water. Stir to dissolve the sugar. Cover and leave to cool.

Add the juice of the lemons.

Strain into bottles or jug if consuming straight away and serve chilled.

8.6.16 025

Three bottles and a glass for me!

Delicious.

Love to know of your favourite hot weather drink. I think elder flower cordial has it for me, but the elder flowers aren’t ready yet. And would you believe it, I caught Mr E on the brink of cutting down the elder flower tree. WHAT?

Comments on: "Lovely Lemons" (24)

  1. My favourite hot weather drink is Lemon Balm Tea, chilled.
    I stuff a teapot full of lemon balm leaves and add one ordinary teabag. Pour on boiling water – have one as a hot drink and then chill the rest – put in a glass jug with a sprig of lemon balm, ice and a slice of lemon or lime – yum!

    • Thanks for this idea. I am growing lemon balm this year and didn’t really know what to use it for. I love lemon tea.

  2. Don’t cut down the elderflower tree!! All your lemon concoctions look so perfect–it’s such a refreshing summer flavor. I had a lemon and poppyseed muffin last night and now I’m thinking how much better it would’ve been with a dollop of lemon curd!

  3. Elder flower cordial is mine to but last time we made some it exploded all over the kitchen and has put me of from making some more ! The lemon curd looks mighty tasty Cathy

  4. I love lemon curd but haven’t made it myself. I’ve no (appropriate!) way of consuming all of the batch before it spoilt. Your cake looks divine! Wonder if a cake or two filled with lemon curd would freeze nicely, and make for longer lasting enjoyment. Do you know if it freezes well?

    • I think it should freeze fine. I keep mine in the fridge and way beyond the recommended time, so far no ill effects. But I have a cast iron constitution!

      • Thank you for this information. If I can gather all the materials, will let you know how it turns out. Sterilizing jars seems overwhelming right now!

  5. Glad the elderflower tree was saved. Wine made from the berries is yummy too. I used to belong to a group that spent a night in the New Forest, out in the open, once a year and one of the women provided mulled elderberry wine – Heaven!

  6. I made lemon curd yesterday too, how fun is that! Iced tea is my favorite for hot weather, right now I’m most partial to blueberry zinger from Celestial Seasons.

    • That sounds delicious too. I am very partial to an ice coffee in Greece to be consumed looking over a little village harbour. Bliss!

  7. I just bought some homemade organic lemon curd at the local farmers market from a lovely English woman. It was so cold that morning she had her wool dress coat on and was chattering away still. The eggs used were from their own chickens and the curd was a lovely shade of yellow I had not seen in the stores or tea shops. Now I need some scones! I like to make lemonade but love how you make it. I also love to put Limoncello in it in the late afternoon if I have guests. Such wonderful ideas here. Thank you..

  8. Ooooh! Home made lemon curd is so much nicer than shop bought. Sounds like you are having fun in the kitchen 🙂

  9. We made our first batch of Elderflower cordial three weeks ago and the flowers are still going on our bush! I love the thought of a not-too-sweet lemonade so will have to give your recipe a go. I’m with you on the homemade lemon curd, too – love it.

    • I am keeping a daily watch on the tree just need a sunny morning for perfect gathering conditions! Can’t wait for the first taste.

  10. I love lemon curd! What a yellow week you’re having 🙂

  11. Lemon curd was one of the first things we made in Food and Nutrition lessons in secondary school (aka cookery!) it’s really delicious isn’t it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

