Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

wales May 16 132

After the success of this dress, I was determined not to forget how to attach my button hole maker to the sewing machine and make a ****** button hole. What better way than by making another dress, just the same as the first.

Florries dress june 16 001

Tahdah! And the picture below is not a large single piece of bunting but a head scarf. I nearly used it for my head gear picture on Monday.Those are little crabs on the fabric by the way.

I successfully attached the button hole maker. It took ten minutes this time rather than the 50 minutes or so last time. Only der. I started off in the wrong place, so 20 minutes undoing the first line of stitching. So now I know why I should transfer markings to fabric.

I have a whole new respect for the sewers on the Great British Sewing Bee.

Florries dress june 16 002

Absolutely not giant bunting. I have never made bunting and this got me wondering can I put bunting on a cloakroom window? There is a rather handy piece of wood which a rather hideous net curtain was formerly attached by the previous owners. What do you think?

I still have some fabric left. I thought a little purse/bag to match. I did have a pattern for one but I couldn’t find it. What I did find was three more knitting patterns. Over a year ago I created a file for my knitting patterns and I still keep finding more, such a squirrel! Only I loose and find patterns not nuts. Anyone else have this problem.

I’m rambling,time to go. But isn’t the sun glorious?I’m off, honestly.

Comments on: "A new dress for Little Miss F." (14)

  1. Hi Cathy…. I’m still around…lol…love the little dress and the fabric….can you tell me where I would find a good fabric shop? Just bought myself a new up to date sewing machine…been using my mums old singer for years and the new machine is a revelation!!!!….the Sewing Bee has a lot to answer for…lol…xxx

    • Hi Jan, good time hear from you. This fabric came from Scarborough. The shop is at this end of the road that has the main post office. Lots and lots and lots of gorgeous fabric. The remnant house shop in Harrogate is excellent too. I got the flower fabric there. Good luck with the sewing!

  2. Lovely little dresses! I think bunting is suitable for any location!

  3. claire93 said:

    lovely dress, great news on the button holes, and of course you can hang up bunting in your downstairs cloakroom!

    • Oh goodie. I wondered if it was a bit of crazy idea to have bunting in the cloakroom. Thanks for the encouragement.

  4. Lucky girl, now two new dresses! Bunting sounds a fun idea.

  5. Wise idea to do things several times to ingrain it into the mind. Love the little head scarf. I used to make them for myself to wear while cleaning house. Also kept the paint out of my hair when painting. I get paint everywhere. I’m sure miss F will love the new dresses. They are too cute. 🙂

  6. Sometimes I find things I should have filed with other things in their category, but more often I go hunting for things for a long time, only to realize I have given them away! I finally started a file on my computer and when I pass something on, I note it there, so I can save myself time looking for it later!

  7. Hahaha love it! I sew on three machines which all do buttonholes differently and I can NEVER remember which is which, it always takes me half an hour, then I think, oh this is easy! I’ll remember this! Then I forget again. Love the little dress, very cute and practical. 😊

  8. You are so smart to keep working on buttonholes until you get them firmly planted in your brain! I am hopeless with a sewing machine–not even sure if my old machine does buttonholes!

  9. Hi Cathy, did you use a commercial pattern for this dress? Miss E would like to make a dress for her sister (Little Miss M) and likes the look of this one.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

