Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Warning-This post is a bit photo heavy. And I am not sharing all the pictures I took. There was just just much to see in the textile room.

Imagine one room full of woven tapestries and quilts, all hanging up behind glass, on a display a bit like you see for posters.Next picture a lot of ladies, completely unknown to each other making instant friends as they ooh and aah. Finally see the exodus of males- husbands, boyfriends and partners as they beat a hasty retreat!

wales May 16 055

I loved the homespun look of so many of the quilts. This one had names embroidered on the individual panels.

wales May 16 056

This one so much more precise. I love the colours.

wales May 16 057

I loved the fans on this one and the embroidered details.. Sorry you can see my reflection in this one.

wales May 16 059

I loved the cartoon type characters on this one and the comments sewn underneath each picture.

wales May 16 060

This is a nine patch one. I don’t know the individual names for the designs being so new to the world of quilts. So many of them were hand sewn and quilted, which I just loved.

wales May 16 061

How about this with embroidered leaves and animals on the pieces. That pig!

wales May 16 063

And this one, so much to see

wales May 16 065

I was especially interested in this hexie one as you can imagine.

wales May 16 066

And this one , all in white with red images embroidered onto the fabric.

wales May 16 067

I mean who can resist Mr Frog, or maybe he’s Mr Toad. I don’t know.

One last one nearly..

wales May 16 068

I loved the head dress on this.

So what is a lady to do when she gets home….. Why dig out the pack of nine 15cmx15cm fabric squares and finally , finally , FINALLY,  do something with them.

18.5.16 015

Look I managed to quilt the inside of each square. Bit of a pigs dinner in the middle hence the buttons!! Now I need to buy a 20 inch cushion pad. It is for use in the summer on our garden chairs. I am inordinately proud of myself for this one.

Hope you enjoyed the tour!

Comments on: "American Museum- The Quilts" (12)

  1. Yes, it’s a lovely museum! Thanks for the trip down memory lane, seeing those lovely quilts always helps with renewing my motivation to create something myself.

  2. What a great collection of quilts! I really like the one with the two women–I’ve never seen one like that before. I’m in the process of working on a redwork quilt, although there’s no frog in mine! How neat that you went home all inspired and got started!

    • No I hadn’t seen one like that before either. I loved it and there were so many other similar images on the quilt.

  3. A very interesting selection. Especially interesting to see formal arrangements and more individual ones.

  4. What fantastic quilts and how wonderful they’ve been preserved for people to enjoy! So glad they gave you some quilty inspiration x

  5. Yep, I could spend hours scrutinising the detail on these and hubby would be happy to find a pub to have a pint in whilst waiting!

  6. While I enjoyed looking at all the old quilts, I have to say I like yours the best. Such pretty fabrics and the buttons are so lovely. Glad you were so inspired.

  7. I am a quilter and I love this post!

  8. A friend had a quilt made from the t-shirts from all the rock concerts he attended in the 70’s and 80’s.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

