Life and Thyme!

American Museum- Bath

It’s been a long cherished wish of mine to visit the American Museum in Bath (UK). Last week I fulfilled it. Full details of the museum can be found here.

My main reason for visiting was the textile room with the collection of quilts. Apparently they have so many they change the exhibition from time to time. I took rather a lot of photos of quilts and other exhibits so have split this visit into two posts. This one does not contain any quilts. I will post those another day!

wales May 16 046

The museum is situated in this house. It doesn’t open till 12, but you can walk in the grounds and visit the cafe after 10.30 if you are an early bird. Being able to do this is a new venture for the museum called appropriately Early Birds. There’s a whole flock of them on the lawn!

wales May 16 075

The views are wonderful.

wales May 16 045

And the coffee and cookies weren’t bad either. Glad we were early birds.

Inside the museum you go on a walk through history. Here’s what caught my eye.

wales May 16 049

These wonderful figures.

wales May 16 050

A collection of black mammy dolls. Apparently there are few survivors of these dolls as they were loved to pieces.

Photography was allowed but no flash, so apologies for lighting issues.

wales May 16 052

A series of rooms through the ages. I know you will all love the wool winder.

wales May 16 071

I am not quite certain what this gadget it. Any ideas? Note to self , take a notebook to write this stuff down in!

wales May 16 072

Now that is a Shaker style sewing box. The pin cushion looks so modern.

Quilts next time….. Hope you enjoyed this short visit with me. I can really recommend it.

 

Comments on: "American Museum- Bath" (17)

  1. Looking forward to the quilts! 🙂

  2. Oh, thank you for this visit! I’ve always wanted to go to this museum too and never made it (stupid as I lived in the Westcountry for many years) … perhaps one day. Looking forward to seeing the quilt pics!

  3. Wonderful place. I went there many years ago and loved it. Thanks for the virtual visit.

  4. I love that museum. It’s quite near where I live so we go occasionally. X

  5. This is a very timely post! I am going to be in Bath for a few days next month for a birthday treat and have ‘advised’ my husband that I want to go to the American museum while we are there. It’s good to have a little preview.

  6. Looks so interesting- thanks for sharing 🙂

  7. As an American, very cool. No idea on the gadget though. The box is definitely Shaker. I live about 30 minutes from one of the old Shaker communities, which is a museum now. But someone has lined it and added the bows; Shakers would not have decorated it. And you’ve given me another reason for me to visit the UK again, one of these years.

  8. Thank you so much for “taking us along with you” as I had no idea this existed!

  9. How interesting that there’s an American museum in the UK–I wouldn’t have expected that! The gadget looks like it might be a band or ribbon loom. Did it look like someone had been weaving a strap or length of ribbon?

  10. Thanks for sharing your visit. I’ll not likely get there so It’s nice to see from my chair. 🙂 The grounds are stunning! Love those old buildings too. There is so little character into our square boxes these days.

  11. What an interesting place – can’t wait to see the quilts!

  12. Must go there but this is the first I’ve heard of it. Please show us the quilts soon!

  13. pdranch said:

    The gadget next to the mannequin looks like a tape loom. I have a similar small table loom.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

