Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Moussaka Recipe

My husband had a Greek Mum. He says my Moussaka is the best he ever ate. Praise indeed. Here’s my recipe, evolved over many years.

1 Aubergine

12oz best lean minced beef, but you could use lamb if you prefer

1 finely chopped onion

Dried or fresh chopped parsley, to taste

A good squeeze of tomato puree

Olive Oil

Aubergine- this is critical to over all success. 15 minutes before you want to start cooking. Top and tail, then slice the aubergine length ways, sprinkle with salt and leave to dry in a colander over the sink. This draws out the bitterness. Actually I do this for all recipes which use aubergine, even it doesn’t tell you to. Then rinse and pat dry.

Using a pastry brush, brush olive oil onto one side and grill under a hot grill till brown. Turn, brush with olive oil and grill the other side. This is much quicker than frying the aubergine and uses less oil. A good thing as far as I am concerned!

Next fry the onion in a little olive oil, when soft, add the mince ,the tomato puree and the parsley. When cooked the mince should look dry not swimming in grease or liquid. If necessary and you used lamb, drain off any fat.

Sauce

Make a roux sauce, I make nearly a pint, add grated cheese to taste, we like cheese so I add a grater full of strong cheddar, and then add one beaten egg. I use a large one.

Put a LAYER of Aubergine in an oven proof dish, then a LAYER of meat sauce all of it. Add a LAYER ( hope you see where the photo challenge is going now!) of Aubergine, the rest of it. Then top with a LAYER of the white sauce, all of it. Put it to brown in a pre- heated oven 180C . Serve with salad.

1.5.16 001

Next week’s photo challenge is Fern and I haven’t a clue what to do…

If you have a  picture for Layer , please feel free to add a link to your post in the comments section. Sandra from Wild Daffodil kindly posts a weekly round up of all pictures. Meantime do pop by some of our regular contributors listed below.

Jane from Rainbow Junkie Corner

Sandra at Wild Daffodil

Melissa at http://thearanartisan.com

Roz at https://umpteenthings.wordpress.com

Jenny at https://letthesewingbegin.wordpress.com

Christina at https://alookatthelittlethings.wordpress.com/

Ali at https://thimberlina.wordpress.com/

Comments on: "Photo Challenge- Layer" (19)

  1. Yummy, I will try your recipe. Good candidate for layer – I thought it would be easy this week, but no, it got me scratching my head a bit – however having searched through the archives I got there in the end.
    Scorpio Dragon! Still smiling over that one!!!! xx

  2. […] join in just leave a link to your LAYER photo in the comments on Cathy’s Post, or here, and I will include it in the round up on […]

  3. My Moussaka recipe is courtesy of Jimmy Young on Radio 2 years ago. Not at all authentic and I have to leave out the aubegine for two of my children but we like it!! Interesting to see how different yours is.

    • ‘Music to put you in the mood for food’ !!!! Wow that takes me back.
      Now I want to know what your recipe is RainbowJ.

      • My recipe is minced beef (I now use lamb as it appears to be more authentic and I like it) and onions. Cooked as normal and forming bottom layer. Then a layer of sliced fried potato (I now do this in the oven as it is less hassle). Then a layer of fried aubegine. (Yes it does absorb a ridiculous amount of oil but haven’t done it for ages as my son is one who doesn’t like it.) Then a layer of sliced tomatoes sprinkled with chopped garlic. Topped with cheese sauce (no added egg). Since I now avoid all members of the solanum family which includes potatoes, tomatoes and aubegine I actually make the above for my son and I have been having sweet potato and mushrooms in mine lately!! So even further away.

    • Oh yes the JY prog! And what’s the recipe today Jim? Didn’t he use to be a chef before a DJ?

  4. Very tasty looking layers of food Cathy. I would have to leave the onion out though because of Fructose intolerance.

  5. Ooh, Fantastic, thanks so much for sharing. It’s ages since I had a moussaka. Really interested to see the egg in the sauce, I’ve never seen that before, what does it do!? X

  6. Bonus! The photo AND a yummy recipe. Food layers may be my favorite kind.

  7. Lovely! That is a perfect way to layer. Aubergine (eggplant in my part of the world) and cheese…what could be better? I use the pre-salting method with eggplant, too, it makes a big difference.

  8. High praise indeed. And interesting challenge this one – so many possible takes on layer.

  9. Quite some tempting layers, indeed. 🙂

  10. […] at Nanacathy…….. ……. ……….. ……. ……….. […]

  11. That looks delicious with all those layers of meat and aubergine. Great idea too.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

