Life and Thyme!

Rhubarb!

Strictly speaking rhubarb is a vegetable, but I don’t know of anyone who eats it as such. We have had a good crop this year and I have been experimenting with various recipes. My two favourites are Rhubarb cake

Farndale-2016 005

which we ate as a pudding.

One of the blogs, sorry I can’t remember whose, spoke of eating rhubarb and lemon scones. I just had to try making some.

They are delicious.

27.4.16 014

I am not a great scone maker as you can see, but they tasted good. Recipe here

Now I have seen recipes for strawberry and rhubarb pies. Has anyone tried making them, what were they like. Love to hear about any favourite rhubarb recipes as we have lots still in the garden

Comments on: "Rhubarb!" (7)

  1. I think your scones look superb! My husband makes a rhubarb upside-down cake that’s wonderful. You can find the recipe here: https://lovethosehandsathome.wordpress.com/2014/07/24/manly-hands-at-home-a-cake-for-all-seasons/

  2. Rhubarb isn’t much eaten over here, but I can remember my Scots gran making something sweet with it when I was very young. Sadly, whatever it was is long gone. Just remember the red colour & that I liked it!

  3. Oh lovely! I have a Rhubarb bush almost at big as me, so must get cracking with it this weekend. x

  4. I love rhubarb! I’ve made a rhubarb and strawberry crumble in the past which was delicious so the pie sounds a good idea. Rhubarb and ginger is another good combination.

  5. I keep meaning to plant some rhubarb as I think it is too robust for the hens to ruin – and we LOVE the stuff! The scones are a new one on me though, and look very good.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

