Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

I would like to grow more herbs. I could plant seeds and end up with lots of plants the same or I could go and buy single  herb plants that I like to use. When I saw that there was a plant sale at Newburgh Priory last Sunday , I was intrigued. I had never heard of Newburgh Priory. The sun was shining, Mr E’s Sunday visit to a  car boot sale was cancelled due a waterlogged field , so off we went.

What an amazing place. Sir George Wombwell greets you at the gates and takes your admission charge. We were early so we had a bit of a chat, He told us Newburgh Priory was one of Yorkshires best kept secrets, which was perfect for people wanting a quiet wedding venue. Admission to the plant fair was free, we paid to go into the gardens only, but I foresee a return visit to look round the Priory house.

Newburgh priory April 2016 016

Here’s the entrance to the Priory.

Newburgh priory April 2016 045

The plant sale was delightful, lots of independent growers and nurseries.

Newburgh priory April 2016 019

Would you look at those planters, felt I think on the outside and coir inners. But at £23 each a bit more than I could justify spending.

Newburgh priory April 2016 020

I loved these garden sculptures, especially Mr Wol.

By now it  was coffee time and we headed into the tea room. An amazing array of homemade cakes greeted us. And the woman who was selling them had made them herself,  she was Lady Wombwell . I asked her about the wood paneling in the entrance hall which didn’t seem as if it really belonged there as all the house bells were just above it. She explained that the paneling had come from a local boys school when it was demolished and the family had rescued it, and the entrance we had come in by was the old servants hall, hence the bells

Newburgh priory April 2016 022

Just look at the graffiti and the dates. Definitely worth salvaging I would say. The tea room was just as amazing, situated in what was clearly the old kitchen.

Newburgh priory April 2016 023

Now that’s what I call a range, but could do with some repairs I think!!

After coffee, we shared a cake, no picture as we ate the cake before I thought of it, but Lady W can bake! We went for a walk round the gardens and park.

Newburgh priory April 2016 030

View of the house from the garden. Part of the old priory remain and in one corner I found this memorial to a warhorse.

Newburgh priory April 2016 027

So poignant. And then into a lovely water garden. I will let the pictures do the talking.

Newburgh priory April 2016 039

Newburgh priory April 2016 032Newburgh priory April 2016 033

And of course there was a lake…

Newburgh priory April 2016 049

The white horse on the hill above

Newburgh priory April 2016 047

Daffodils to the side

Newburgh priory April 2016 046

I loved this tree at the water’s edge.

Plant sale… did I buy any. Well yes, but I will save my purchases for my April Garden update post later in the month.

Hope we all have a good  gardening weather this weekend and some nice places to visit in the sunshine.

Comments on: "Plant Sale at Newburgh Priory" (17)

  1. Ooh this does look interesting! We have a couple of days staying in Ripon at the end of April – to see the great ruined abbeys in particular – is Newburgh Priory anywhere nearby?

    • It’s not far being near Easingwold, but if you have only a couple of days and have never visited before then I would recommend Fountains Abbey.

  2. Gorgeous! Love the iron sculptures, that oven (wow), the lovely war horse tribute, and oh what a lovely time you must have had wandering the water gardens.

  3. I’m so envious! What a lovely walk and great photos. We have rain. 🙂

  4. What a lovely surprise after the car boot cancellation ~ and thank you for taking us along! So many wonderful, old spots to appreciate, a good tea to be had, and beautiful gardens to appreciate. Our bulbs came & went a few weeks ago so it is lovely to see yours! Hope you have another good weekend in which to enjoy.

  5. What a lovely place to visit! Love all the photos 😀

  6. For many years the Yorkshire Wolds were my territory, yet I have never heard of this ‘best kept secret’ either. This could well be the place to visit with my mum and two sisters in the summer. The White horse however is very familiar , it stands out so majestically! Lovely post Kathy.💚💜💛💙❤️

    • You could also combine it with a trip to Kilburn, where you can visit the woodwork studio of the mouseman furniture, Robert Thompson. Well worth seeing and nice tearoom with view of the White horse!

      • A good idea! I have never been, but spotted the mice a few times. I remember the one on the church gate on the hill road in Robin Hoods Bay! 💚💜💛❤️💙

  7. Sorry Cathy… My sister is Kathy!

  8. What a delightful discovery, and such a nice sunny spring day to visit the gardens.

  9. A new one to me too. Definitely on my list for the summer! Thanks for sharing.

  10. Hi Cathy! I loved seeing your post and all the lovely pictures. I felt like I was right there with you. Thanks for sharing. Hugs, Tamara

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

