Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Embroidery Exhibition

Yesterday I visited a wonderful embroidery exhibition held in a tiny village hall in Farndale. I was given permission to take photos, so here are the pieces that really inspired me.

Farndale-2016 016

These little Comforts are made from samples made for an embroidery course, the hats are felt. Aren’t they just adorable.

Farndale-2016 017

Sorry about the angle on this but it was on a side wall. Again what a lovely idea for using small pieces of fabric and buttons and beads. I possess fabric, buttons and beads…..

Farndale-2016 018

Now I had a long chat with the lady who made this. I said that is my favourite piece, and she said she had made it. Well I guess I made her day. Inspired by a holiday in Peru, its about the elements, the mining and the damage to the environment. It was a truly gorgeous work of art.

I told her I had taken a City and Guilds Creative embroidery course. She said I should go to the Embroidery group meetings. They had Make and Take workshops. Like these

Farndale-2016 019

Beautiful books and these

Farndale-2016 020

cards.

I managed to walk past all the tempting materials for sale. Sheer WILLPOWER!

I bought some tombola tickets and won this lovely bag.

Farndale-2016 021

The group meets on the last Saturday of every month. Now should I join?

 

Comments on: "Embroidery Exhibition" (27)

  1. claire93 said:

    well you should at least go along for a first evening and see what atmosphere is like ^^

  2. Well if it could fit it in it would be worth trying!

    • Ha! I wake up every morning with a whole day already full of plans, but it would probably do me good to be with like minded people. Thanks.

  3. Yes, yes, yes!!!!! YES go! I want to come along too – oh wait, I’m about a day’s drive away. Gorgeous things – of course I just LOVE those little books, were they needle-cases?
    Congratulations on winning that sweet bag. I too did a City and Guilds Embroidery course many moons ago – I’m enjoying getting back to needle and thread after crochet and knitting , but I’m remembering now how long sewing takes compared to racing along with the crochet hook. What a yummy post.

    • Now that is what I really needed, a big positive push! The books were tiny no more than 1″ by 2″ , but the inside fabric suggests needles, I suspect they are just decorative! My first love is embroidery, so I think I would love it. Thanks so much for your comment and how I wish you could come too!

  4. Oh yes, do. It’s always lovely to share what you’re making and what you know. And next year you can be showing us your pieces in the exhibition.

    • Bekki you are so right but I am much too uncertain of myself to even think of exhibiting a thing. Thanks so much for the positive comment.

  5. Congratulations on your new bag!
    WOW ~ These are fabulous pieces!!!
    Absolutely, get thee to a meeting, and see if it’s a good fit for you, & hope it is! 🍀
    You might attend several, just to be sure. 😉
    So much over here is cross stitch. Sigh. (No offense to those who love it.)
    Gee, you’ve done a Guild course… double deep sigh . . .

    • Thank you. The idea of going along to see if it is for me really appeals rather than thinking I have to join immediately. I really think it might help me restart the embroidery. Thanks for your help.

  6. Don’t you just love the fiber arts? I get so excited seeing what people can do with a bit of this and that. I never get out without spending money on something exciting. You are stronger than I am. 🙂

    • Oh getting out without spending money was really hard. I just had to tell myself that I have more than I need already and I should leave the goodies for those that don’t!!

  7. Oh you should jump at the chance! What an amazing opportunity to have a go at some of those lovely thing:)

  8. Of course you should join! I joined a quilt guild a couple years ago and have found both endless inspirational and good friendships with like-minded people!

  9. what a lovely bag and those little books are so delicate looking 🙂

  10. You are so right, I have been lucky in winning gorgeous items.

  11. When I saw the title of this post I couldn’t resist – and was richly rewarded! Let me add to the chorus encouraging you to at least attend one or two meetings with the other stitchers. I bet you’ll find you have more than just a love of the needle arts in common. I’m also glad I read through the comments to learn that those tiny books are truly TINY! I also love a little book, for needles or words. Not sure I could go that small though!

    • I have been really encouraged by everyone s comments to try the group. I am so happy that you liked my post. The books were stunning.

  12. I reckon you should pay them a visit. You never know, it could be right up your street. 🙂

  13. What beautiful treasures, thank you for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

