Life and Thyme!

16 for 2016- March

A busy month.. Easter, Cloakroom decorating, still trying to choose a sofa we agree on, trying to choose a new kitchen we agree on, yes our Museum Kitchen circa 1980 is to be consigned to history, but this could take a long time….

So what about the 16 for 2016.

16 swims- 13 so far! And I have gone from 16 lengths at my first swim to 26!

15 minutes x 2x 5= 5 half walks a week. Still a work in progress but we have had some lovely walks recently and have just bought a Dalby Forest pass. We need to go 8 times and then we start saving money. We haven’t had one since our dog died 8 years ago and I really miss our forest walks.

Easter 2016 008

Walking in Dalby Forest at the Bridestones, Master H climbing one!

14 lbs lost-8

13 outings- We had a lovely trip out to see the Flying Scotsman steam through Levisham Station on the 20 March

Flying scotsman March 16 021

So that makes three outings.

12 Cookery Posts- 2 so far, my hate affair with broccoli and blueberry curd

11 Flower Pictures. I love this rose ( One of a bunch) which I was given by Mr J and family when they came to stay.

Easter 2016 031

that makes three.

10 handmade cards.

The total now stands at 5 with these paper craft cards

19.3.2016 002

9 Garden Posts- 2 so far, February and March

8 Stash /kit busting projects. Last month I made Mr J a new picnic blanket from stash and banned the dog from nationalizing it. I felt mean so I made a dog blanket too. But as it’s really just an extension of the first blanket this one isn’t counting towards the 8. Total stays at 1, but here’s the dog blanket. Meantime I am still making hexies from my fabric stash, soon to start sewing them together.

Easter 2016 004

7 sewing/ embroidery projects, nothing to report this month, total stays at 1

6 Acts Of kindness. Had a big BIG think about what I meant by this, and it’s about the act, I don’t want it to be something that is about making me feel good. Does that make sense? Anyway I have two  this month, which illustrate what I mean.

1- picking up other peoples’  litter and putting it in a bin. I do that quite a bit!

2 sorting out messes of supermarket/shop trolleys in the trolley park. Just why do people think it acceptable to just push them in any old how?

What other little acts of civic kindness could I do ?

5 Reading five non fiction books. Yes One read, Edward Enfield. Greece on my Wheels. The title says it all! Still reading Voices from the Workhouse.

4 Improving my knitting/crochet skills- total is still one, but I am now on the first sleeve of the cable cardigan for Master T

3 things form my bucket list- 1 still

2 Railway journey- 0

1 Bus journey-0

0 magazines bought- still at 0 but oh so hard, all these blog posts about projects in magazines. I just have too many magazines already!

How are you doing on your goals for this year? Please feel free to leave a link to any post you have written about this.

 

Comments on: "16 for 2016- March" (30)

  1. 13 swims and 8 lbs lost!!!!! Well done! I am cheering and whooping loudly as those would be the hardest for me. It looks like a busy and beautifully productive month. I’m interested about your acts of kindness being about ‘civic’ kindness. I like that idea. Hope to post mine tomorrow – still finding the 16 for 16 really motivating and a good way to notice our achievements which might drift by without us remembering what we HAVE done. ❤

    • Thank you. I was especially delighted by the 8lbs total. First Easter when I haven’t put on 5lbs. I am loving the swimming, once a week is good, when I have gone twice it’s really tired me! This way of goal setting is great, I like that is vague enough to be very flexible. At the start I had no intention of starting the hexie patchwork and making them is pushing me into something completely new. And yes it does help motivation and helps me think about how to spend time and to notice little achievements. Looking forward to reading your update!

  2. I love this Cathy! You are doing great 😃 My recent resolution to crochet one row of my blanket and do some spinning every day for 5 days of the week is a bit sporadic, I think I need something to make me more accountable! I don’t think I have done anything on my list of what I wanted to make!! Creative time seems to have been a bit sparse lately! Hope you have a great weekend x

    • Thanks Sharon. Hope you achieve your goals. Five times a week is daunting bet you could do 15 a month though. I like this way of goal setting because it is so flexible and I feel free to change something that isn’t quite working, after all its my list. And writing about it once a month gives me a little spurt!

  3. Wow I love your 16 for 2016 challenge to yourself. I really should think of my goals in this way. I have quilting goals and life goals, but boy have I been so busy all of them probably went out the window. I will need to check back in with you there. I know I wrote various posts on the subjects. I know one I was bad on. Didn’t get rid of a quilting WIP as said.

    Oh I wish I could get back to swimming. Maybe now that the temperatures are going up. thanks for sharing Cathy!

    • Good luck with your goals. This format is fun and I love chalking up my swims! Thanks for the positive encouragement.

      • Well my 35th is coming up so I will do it in your fashion, like a bucket list of little and some big things I want to achieve this year. Thanks for the inspiration.

  4. I’d say you’re doing very well–and you have LOTS of time left to work on the rest! That’s a very nice blanket for the dog–I hope he’ll appreciate it and not show it up!

  5. Fantastic achievements! 🙂

  6. Cathy, I am so impressed! You’re doing a marvelous job with your accomplishments (and tracking them). Not faring so well over here, but making some progress….better than none, right?

    • Absolutely, focus on the positive, and hey what does it matter as long as its enjoyable. Good luck with your goals, sure you are doing great.

  7. Such a lovely post…congratulations on your swimming achievement… I have just started with exercise and cannot breathe for most of it! Keep going xx

    • Thank you. It is surprising what a difference regular swimming makes. I am still the slowest in the pool, but I figure I probably get more benefit from my time than the strong swimmers do. At least that’s what I tell myself when people splash their way speedily past me! Good luck with the exercise. Don’t forget to breathe!

  8. Well done! Such progress, such discipline! I think I should join in next year with 17 for 17. I didn’t make any resolutions for this year but maybe I could tally retrospectively at the end of 16… 😊

  9. […] Cathy inspired me to do the 16 for 2016, here is her March post. […]

  10. Your doing well with your 16’s! Well done with the weight loss and swimming, they must be going hand in hand! You’ll be needing a new cossie soon. Those rocks…I thought it was Brigham rocks. H loves Dalby but we’ve not been for a while. Must get the bikes dusted off and head over when we get some sunshine 🌞🌞🌞

    • Yes the weight loss is due to swimming and smaller portions and no baking! We have been back to Dalby for a walk this week, getting the pass was a good plan.

  11. I bet you also round up abandoned trolleys left where the person unloaded into their car instead of just walking by. Our parish recently justified the increase in Council Tax by saying that they now had to employ three litter pickers because residents expect the parish to be maintained to a high standard! Well, we all know the answer to that. Maybe I should apply for a rebate for all the unpaid litter picking I do for them.
    Love the idea of your 16 for 2016 and rather wish I’d set myself a list.

    • Thanks Anne. We live near a school and get rubbish blown over from there. Last month I started picking it up all over the place. Not too late to write a 16 for 16. Good luck with your goals.

  12. Murtagh's Meadow said:

    Wow, you are making such great progress, very inspiring. Love the blanket!

  13. Well done you! Seems to me you’re getting through these quicker than last year 🙂

  14. That isn’t the Dalby in Sweden, is it? That rock climbing looks cool however.

  15. So many goals and so much achieved already – very impressive! I dare not set goals at the moment as so much is going on in our lives and we don’t need any more pressure, but it’s lovely to follow you as you meet yours:)

  16. Wow! Impressive. You’re making excellent progress -keep up the good work. You are an inspiration.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

