Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Blueberry Curd

I love homemade lemon curd and last year I made Seville Orange Curd and that was delicious. In the spirit of challenging myself in the kitchen I made Blueberry Curd last week for my Easter visitors.

Easter 2016 001

Blueberry Curd

225 g Blueberries

50g butter

225g caster sugar

3 eggs beaten

Place blueberries and 1tbsp of water in a pan, cover and cook gently until soft.

Sieve and return to the pan with butter and sugar to dissolve.

Add the eggs and heat gently , stirring until thick enough to coat the back of a wooden spoon.

Strain and cover into jars.

Mine tasted lovely, but was a bit runny, the eggs may have been too big, I used large ones? I cooked it for 20 minutes which is how long I would cook lemon curd.

I also made my first ever Simnel cake and am rather pleased with how it turned out.

Easter 2016 002

And those all time favourites with children

Easter 2016 003

Hope you had a lovely Easter. The family have all gone home now and it is very quiet here! ….

 

Comments on: "Blueberry Curd" (11)

  1. Now you are making me hungry LOL!

  2. What is the 3rd item? They all look yummy!

    • Oh maybe we just make them in the UK. Chocolate crispie nests. Rice krispies, melted chocolate mixed then put in bun cases, add mini chocolate eggs!

  3. We make rice krispy treats in the US, too! But I had to go look up simnel cake–never heard of that one. I’m intrigued by the idea of blueberry curd–it never occurred to me that it could be made of non-citrus!

  4. I love blueberries in all forms. Blueberry curd sounds like it would disappear quickly in my house.

  5. Sounds interesting – although I love lemon curd so much, I’m not sure I’d like any other ‘curd’ better 🙂

  6. I’ve never thought of making curd with anything other than lemons – what a good idea to use blueberries! Love the simnel cake!

  7. mouthwatering and those pots look so pretty

  8. That all looks lovely! I must try some curd alternative flavours too I think 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

