Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Or more accurately for the love of Mr E! Mr E likes broccoli, and particularly its reputation in cancer prevention. I note from Wikipedia that some people find it bitter. That would be me. I hate the stuff!

My 16 for 2016 is all about challenging myself in various ways. On the cookery front, to try to make things I have always said I would try, to increase my skills and to find new ways of preparing food. And then to write a blog post.

Cookery challenge number one is to find a way of eating broccoli,which if not delicious I can at least swallow! Plan one was to disguise the flavour with something strong which I do like. Stilton cheese.

First I made Broccoli and Stilton soup with stilton croutons, by Antony Worrall Thompson

9.1.16 005

The Stilton did not do its job well enough, the bitterness was there.

Next plan two was The food network, broccoli and stilton quiche.The problem was that this quiche had great lumps of broccoli sticking out, and I just didn’t like it.

Plan three, go back to soup and forget the Stilton.

Broccoli and watercress soup

It was NICE.

Recipe from my Good Housekeeping recipe book. It’s not on their webpage so here it is.

225g broccoli

75g butter

2 leeks trimmed and sliced

1-2 garlic cloves peeled and halved

2 bunches of watercress- what a daft amount that is I just guessed

25g plain white flour

600ml chicken stock

salt and pepper

450ml milk

150ml single cream

shavings of Parmesan cheese

freshly grated nutmeg to taste

Method

Divide the broccoli into florets, and slice the stalks in small bits.

Cook gently in melted butter with the leeks and garlic, for 5 mins,stirring from time to time.

Add the watercress and stir frequently for 3 minutes. Add the flour and gradually add the stock.

Season and simmer gently for 20 minutes.

Puree the soup and add the milk and cream and heat gently to warm.

Serve with the Parmesan and nutmeg to taste.

9.2.16 006

Only one problem. Mr E didn’t like the watercress!! GROWL!

Now does anyone have any brilliant ideas for broccoli recipes, please?

 

Comments on: "For the love of Broccoli!" (23)

  1. kathrynrubidoux said:

    I love broccoli so I am no help. Cheddar broccoli soup is a favorite around here, in the winter I add chicken and sour cream to the basic soup for a richer fair. Another favorite is chicken divan, which is a baked casserole type dish. Apparently it can be made with turkey as well, though I haven’t tried that variation.

  2. kathrynrubidoux said:

    Oh and I almost forgot, broccoli sprouts are great in sandwiches; they add crunch and you get the full antioxidant benefits.

  3. It’s a shame you don’t like broccoli. I wouldn’t have said it was bitter but then I like brussel sprouts and prefer really dark cabbage leaves which I think some people find to be bitter. I have a recipe for brocolli soup but since it includes nothing to hide the taste I don’t think it would help.

  4. Kathryn, just wanted to say a real big thank you for all the trouble you have gone too. I will report back on my further adventures with broccoli!

  5. I absolutely adore broccoli and broccoli and stilton soup, so afraid I’m not help either 😦

  6. I have a lovely recipe for chicken and broccoli in a sauce made from condensed soup and curry powder to flavour it, bake in the oven for about an hour. 😊

  7. if you like asparagus, it’s better for you than broccoli.

  8. I love broccoli casserole with cheddar cheese, buttery crackers and rice. But it uses full on broccoli so you might not like it.

  9. I’ve sautéed broccoli in a little olive oil with garlic, salt, pepper. Easy and good. And it’s so good raw in salads. My favorite way to cook most veggies is to roast them. Brussel sprouts are fabulous roasted! As for broccoli, I’ve not prepared them that way yet, who knows why, I usually just steam. But, I’d try one of the cheddar soup recipes folks have recommended – can’t go wrong!

  10. Oh dear – I’m another one that likes broccoli, so may not be much help, but I will try! I use the cooked spears (very lightly cooked, just blanched) in fish quiche. That is if I am making a salmon quiche or tuna quiche. And add lots of cheese too. My husband has made it with smoked salmon, a much stronger, smokey flavour which I find a bit strong, but it might mask the broccoli bit more. Either way, the crunch of the broccoli spear is contrast to the fish.

  11. Have you thought about roasting it before using it in recipes? That might caramelize it a bit and bring out some more sweetness.

  12. Broccoli definitely isn’t bitter, but has some undefined yucky kind of flavour. It’s fine in small amounts though, and if you spice it up a bit. I happily eat it gratinated with bacon, cream, garlic, and lots of cheese on the top.

  13. I love broccoli but have to admit surprise that you find it bitter as it’s not a description I would use. Broccoli cheese or broccoli and cauliflower cheese is just lush:)

  14. Sorry, hard to imagine anyone doesn’t love broccoli! How about cutting up some fine pieces of broccoli and putting it in a stir fry? I often do this and it may help mask the flavor. The beauty of stir fry if you can throw in just about anything!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

