Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

16 for 2016- February

So that was Winter! Not so bad in our neck of the woods. Spring is nearly here. The frogs and newts have woken up in our pond as I discovered yesterday when I was clearing out weed and leaf debris. We have had more whizzing round the motorways of England. This time to celebrate Master T’s 5th birthday. We both came back with a cold  which took us out of action for a few days last week. March looks as if it could be very busy indeed with visitors and plumbers!! To say nothing of Easter.

So time for the February review of my 16 for 2016

16  swims-I have now been 7 times, but need to step up my attendance to get the most from my three month membership at the swimming pool.

15 minutes x 2x 5 times a week- ok so I am saying nothing about this one

14lbs lost-8 so far

13 outings- We have had two in February. One to Burton Agnes Hall near Driffield to see the snowdrops. When we were in Wiltshire we went to Avebury Ring

Theo birthday 2016 013

Master T himself

Theo birthday 2016 015

Little sister Miss F

Theo birthday 2016 017

Daddy aka our Oldest son Mr T.

Theo birthday 2016 023

A thoroughly enjoyable outing, with a cup of tea in the cafe to round off the morning. Avebury was somewhere I had always wanted to visit so was thrilled to have this chance.

12 cookery posts- not happened!!

11 Flower pictures  – 2 so far

10 handmade cards- 3

9 Garden posts- 1

8 Stash/kit busting projects-  I made the crochet picnic blanket mostly from wool I already had. Mr J, middle son, was duly grateful and promptly asked me to make a dog blanket as I said he wasn’t to turn the picnic blanket into one. So now entirely from my wool stash I am making a dog blanket.

29.2.16 004

I am therefore counting these two blankets as one stash busting project.

I have a very bad habit of falling in love with fabric and buying fat quarters with absolutely no idea what to do with them. Periodically I lay them on the guest bed and have a mini gloat over them. Anyway my brother is coming next week so the bed has to be cleared of my crafting debris. I started to put away the fabric, only it would no longer fit in my designated fabric box. Humph! I looked at the fabric in said box. Now I don’t have useful pieces of fabric that you could make a dress or a blouse from. No, I have scraps of fabric left over from years of crafting and , scraps rescued from friends, shops, neighbours, strangers etc throwing out their scraps. I looked at the box long and hard. I went away. I thought that the plan I had always had was to make a hexie quilt. A plan I have had since I was a teenager. Just how many more scraps did I need? Had the time come when I should just get started? I have taken the plunge. Hexies are being made! Here’s the beginning.

29.2.16 005

Looking at just this collection sends me down memory lane, of cushions, lavender bags, applique pictures, made by me,and scraps from a lady I worked with. Each one has a memory.

I wondered if anyone had any hints or tips on the making of a hexie quilt?

Where was I?

7 Sewing/Embroidery project- I finished the Cath Kidston bag. I never ever want to sew cotton duck again. I left off the over stitching on the straps. No way was my machine going to cope with the thickness of fabric. Anyway ’tis done, and I have a pretty bag for Summer.

29.2.16 003

6 acts of kindness-0

5 Reading non fiction-still reading Voices from the Workhouse

4 Knitting and crochet skills improved. On the knitting front I have now jst started the right side of a cable cardigan. Now the stitches fall off the beginning of the row instead of the end. I will get there.

Now on the crochet front. I had to figure out how to fix crochet when it undoes itself. I had given the garden blanket to Little Miss F, and the whole family took to it wonderfully well, snuggling down to watch telly, play games etc all Winter long. Mrs T told me when we visited that some of the squares were undoing themselves from the centre. I brought the blanket home with me and had a puzzle. I think the problem was that the magic circles in the centre of some the squares just came loose. One of the granny squares two rows in was also unraveling. Clearly ends had not been secured sufficiently.On the plus side I had small amounts of all the necessary yarn. Anyway I fixed the magic circles with chain stitches through the next row pulled tight and secured the ends very tightly. I darned the errant Granny square. Then I crocheted more flowers and covered the offending parts.

26.2.16 005

26.2.16 006

And hopefully that will be ok.

26.2.16 007

So crochet repair is a new skill for me. Not what I expected but certainly necessary.

3 Bucket list goals achieved- 1

2 Railway journeys-0

1 Bus journey-0

0 Magazines bought-0

So not bad, I think! How are you doing this year? Please feel free to leave a link to a 16 for 2016 review you may post.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments on: "16 for 2016- February" (17)

  1. Oh! I do so love reading this list. Can’t quite get why it thrills me so much, it may be the gentleness of each progress made as a fellow member of the grandparent tribe, interested in similar things with similar goals.
    8 lbs lost!!!!! WELL DONE! I am truly impressed as I am trying to lose weight too and have to nearly starve to get anywhere, and then to keep those pounds at bay, esp in the winter months.
    Those hexagons are going to look so good when joined together. I made loads of that sort of patchwork in the 70s and now do random crazy patchwork with the sewing machine, sewing it all onto a background. Feeling nostalgic for those little card shapes and the rhythm of it.
    A lovely list – and still only February.
    You have inspired me to get mine done.
    👏

    • Thank you. I love the idea of a tribe of grandparents! I am not dieting as such. A smaller plate, I have stopped baking temporarily. And I try to move a bit more every day! I have made hexie cushions and pincushions but never a full quilt
      Look forward to reading your update.

  2. You’ve finished off a great deal for only 2 months in to the year. As for the fabric quarters. I have a bin of them as well. We bring a different color to each quilt group meeting and someone wins the pot. So I keep plenty as they make lovely gifts for a quilter. Hexie’s look difficult so I can’t help you there. They would scare me to pieces though they are lovely. You did a fine job fixing the beautiful crochet blanket. New skills are something I think we should all work on. Lovely to see all you’ve accomplished.

  3. 🙂 Not too shoddy at all, keep up the good work!

  4. I too love your list. I love the bag and the hexies should be fun to play with 😃 Your grandkids are adorable, it much be such fun spending time with them, x

  5. I like these update posts a lot and I LOVE the hexies. I’m pretty sure that’s the direction I’m going next with hand work.

  6. Congratulations, keep up the good work. I think you’re doing fabulous.

  7. Grand work this year – CONGRATULATIONS!
    Now, a bit about those hexies, which I just ran across whilst reading a little give-away paper from a local quilt store… There was a column about books, all re hexies, and published from 2013 & 2014. Hope you’ll locate whichever one(s) you fancy. I couldn’t locate the column on-line for you to read, but can copy & email to you if you’d like.

    From Quilting with Barbara column by Canadian quilter Barbara Conquest, in the March-April 2016 issue of The Country Register, North & South Carolina:
    Hexagon Happenings – Carolyn Forster (British)
    Hexagons, Diamonds, Triangles and More – Kelly Ashton
    The New Hexagon: 52 Blocks to English Paper Piece – Katja Marek (Canadian)
    Hexagons Made Easy: Machine Techniques for Exceptional Quilts – Jen Eskridge
    Hope these give you some ideas!
    del

  8. I agree with all that Wild Daffodil says – lovely ambling post – so many activities – so impressive to lose all that weight. Loved those pics of the little folk at Avebury – little sweeties. Also fun to read about your plans for your hexies – and your blanket repairs. Such a full and interesting post. 🙂

  9. I too have started a hexie ‘stash’. I made quite a few to start with but I’m not adding to them much now. I think it’s because I need to have an end goal in mind for them and I haven’t seen anything yet that makes me go ‘ooh yes, I need to make 400 hexies and then I’ll be able to make that from them’. Like you, I’m searching for inspiration.
    I can’t believe you haven’t been able to add any ‘acts of kindness’ to your list. I’m sure you’ve performed some but haven’t considered them as such yourself. What about letting your son use your crochet work as a dog blanket for a start!!

  10. What a fantastic February you’ve had! I love the garden blanket & the CK bag but the thing which really resonated with me was the fat quarter issue you have. I am a fellow sufferer. Every time I’m in the UK and visit a fat quarter selling establishment I return home lighter in the purse department but with more joyous fabric for my stash. I also like to lay them out and admire them but don’t know what to do with them. I even have a big roll of brown parcel paper bought and stuffed in the corner of my crafty corner ready to use as backing. Perhaps the time is approaching for me to begin a hexie patchwork quilt top myself! 😀

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

