Life and Thyme!

I had heard that the snowdrops at Burton Agnes Hall were spectacular. Yesterday the sun was shining, so off we went for the first outing of the year to see for ourselves.

Burton Agnes Hall, snowdrops Feb 2016 002

The Hall is a rather grand Elizabethan House, closed still for Winter cleaning.I love those chimneys!

Burton Agnes Hall, snowdrops Feb 2016 013The woods in the grounds are a carpet of snowdrops. Truly magnificent. One  of my 16 for 2016 is to take 11 pictures of flowers. Here’s the first one..

Burton Agnes Hall, snowdrops Feb 2016 009

The view from the woods caught my eye too.

Burton Agnes Hall, snowdrops Feb 2016 020

Nearer the house are the formal gardens and a wonderful walled garden. Here’s the view from the rather magnificent Gate House.

Burton Agnes Hall, snowdrops Feb 2016 034

I have a thing about garden lions.

Burton Agnes Hall, snowdrops Feb 2016 025

I need one! There is also a children’s section with outside games and around them I spotted my second flower picture.

Burton Agnes Hall, snowdrops Feb 2016 037

I thought that one so gorgeous I bought one for our garden. And I have some other rather nice photos which will appear throughout the year in the 52 week photo challenge! I was rather tempted to use the last picture of the house next week under the prompt Home!! Imagine. … No thanks, think of the dusting!

Comments on: "Snowdrops at Burton Agnes Hall" (14)

  1. Thank you for sharing this lovely place with us.

  2. What a splendid house and grounds. I had a giggle at your thought for this as your ‘HOME’ photo entry – why not! Could be your fantasy home! I’m sure the family who live there have someone to do the dusting for them! 😉

  3. There is something so magical about a carpet of snowdrops on the ground.

  4. What a beautiful site, those snowdrops in the woods! Really does look like patches of snow. It must have been breathtaking in person. Love the other flower picture also. It is a lilly of some sort? Beautiful coloring inside of the flower.

  5. What a beautiful building. Just imagine living there!

  6. Oh I love these pictures! Especially the snowdrop carpet, it is stunningly beautiful.

  7. What an amazing house but I’m with you on the dusting! If ever I find myself wanting a bigger house I just tell myself that little houses don’t need much cleaning 🙂

  8. If you owned that house you wouldn’t be the one dusting it!
    Lovely snowdrops.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

