Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

February Garden

My first Garden post of the nine I hope to make this year. My usual input to the garden is weeding , when the mess annoys me too much, pruning when I think about about it, planting bulbs and rescuing plants from garden centres  that look sorry for themselves and have been reduced in price. This year I want to be a bit more active outside.

I would describe myself as a reluctant Gardener, it takes me ages to motivate myself to go out but once there I thoroughly enjoy myself.

We are on clay soil and in a bit of a micro climate up a hill. In the town yet with a green field opposite our house at the back of the school. We often have different weather to that in the town 1/4 mile away, a bit colder, windier and yet often with more sunshine, as the town is down by a river and it gets misty  down there.

After the wet weather this Winter our garden sings to you as you walk on the grass, Squelch, squelch, squelch! The soil is water logged , the paths wet and moss abounds.

We make our own compost from vegetable waste and garden stuff, not weeds.

We have a pond and a large community of frogs come by every March for their annual get together. I feed the birds all winter and we have a lot of nesting birds. The birds and frogs do a great job on the bugs and I don’t use pesticides.

It’s about 1/6th of an acre.

And I think that’s all I need say about the garden. I would like to make a herb garden this year and just spend more time outside and hopefully I will learn something….

Currently there are a few signs that Spring is on its way.

snowdrops Jan 2016 004

These are always the first to appear, I think they are celandines?

snowdrops Jan 2016 006

I have planted a lot of primroses around the gardens, this one is under a hedge.

snowdrops Jan 2016 008

I have planted a lot of snowdrops and thin them out most years and am thrilled that in the 14 years we have been here we have gone from no snowdrops to lots and lots of snowdrops. This is half the clump I dug up from my Dad’s garden. I did indeed plant the other half at the cemetery.

Finally.. Yorkshire rhubarb

snowdrops Jan 2016 009

Coming along nicely this year.

I would absolutely love it if you would leave a comment and help me the Reluctant Gardener to become a Bit More Proficient Gardener.

 

Comments on: "February Garden" (29)

  1. I don’t think my comments will make you a better gardener I am afraid. Fresh herbs are better than dried in many cases in my opinion. Especially rosemary and sage if you have a sunny spot but they do grow very large. Fresh thyme is good too but it doesn’t really like clay soil.

    • Rosemary I have in a pot and I also have a thyme bush, but you are right it’s not a happy bunny! Sage is one I would like very much indeed. Thanks to your help.

  2. The hens put paid to any attempts at a nice garden here. What with The Boys using the ‘lawn’ as a football pitch in the Winter and a cricket pitch in the Summer, it wouldn’t matter if I were a gardener or not! We grow lots of herbs in pots which are successful, we have a very productive thornless blackberry bush, an elderberry bush and an apple tree. There are daffodils, a few red tulips and a few other flowers on the bank and several shrubs and dwarf conifers that have survived the daily abuse, but that’s it. No beautiful flower beds or a striped lawn, much as I yearn for both:)

  3. Well done! Your first Garden post. I’m a fair weather gardener myself, and if I have nothing else clamouring for my attention, I love it. This time of year is a challenge though!

  4. I laughed when you said you buy the bargain plants and try to save them–we do the same thing! I feel so sorry for them, I have to try! It’s nice to see your photos–we’re a couple of months away from blossoms, I think.

  5. I need to plant some snowdrops. They always make me so happy when they appear. I find herbs to be easy. I put them in a small “kitchen garden” and sort of let them do their own thing. Perfect for a reluctant gardener.

    • Snowdrops are easy if you do them at this time of year in the green . O have a spot in front of the kitchen window I have in mind for the herbs, just need to find a new home for some bluebells which are there at the moment.

  6. I am just like you where gardening is concerned I put it off as long as possible and when I do get out there I love it.I call myself a nice weather gardener !!!

  7. I’m loving seeing all the colour popping up unexpectantly! It’s giving me hope that’s there’s light at the end of this very dark tunnel called winter!! 🙂

  8. Reluctant gardener here, too, hoping to do a little better this spring. Your blooms are wonderfully bright and cheery, and your multiplying snowdrops are so pretty.

  9. Oh how I miss my garden back in England. Your Dad’s snowdrops look glorious and I am a huge fan of rhubarb (we had a huge clump of it in our first ever home – which happened to be in the rhubarb triangle). Good luck on your gardening quest! 🙂

    • How wonderful to have been in the rhubarb triangle. We are just outside, and don’t force it. It’s really tasty, can’t wait for the first crumble!

  10. I’m just dreaming about gardening for now. I hope to do something year, for one thing we were given a fairy rose bush that is coming sometime in May. And I’m hoping to get some planting done along our garage where it is shady and just a little ugly. Some hosta and lily of the valley would dress it up a bit I think and now you have me thinking about primroses and snowdrops 🙂 We’ll see what I manage once we get into planting season.

    • Your rose has such a lovely name! I have some lily of the valley but its mixed up with mint, both were in the garden when we moved in. Goodness knows why they were planted so close together. My priority in February is to clean up the pond before the frogs arrive! Good luck with your garden plans.

  11. I so very aspire to hit up the garden nursery on the way home from work tomorrow. Time to get some peas, kales, and other goodies in the ground. Maybe even some pansies for my poor baskets on the front porch!

  12. Isn’t it amazing how many things we feel reluctant to do, but really enjoy once we start. I’m like that about the garden too.

  13. It always feels good to get outside and work in the garden doesn’t it? I love being outdoors. I wish to I was more motivated to be working instead of just enjoying the sunshine.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

