Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

16 for 2016- January!

Late,late late, with the January update as it’s the 4 February already. The year started off brilliantly and then went down the pan!!!

I have become even more intimate with the A1, M1,M4,M5,M6, M18, M40 and the M42! Another family crisis which had the potential to be a real tragedy, involving hospitals. Relief- all scary tests and scans came back negative, and now it’s just a question of improving health for one person and keeping a family afloat.

We were away at the weekend and came home to find that YIPPEE, pothole saga has moved to the next stage, and is now Road Repairing  Saga. Have a look at what greeted us on Monday.

snowdrops Jan 2016 014

And the whole road looks like this

snowdrops Jan 2016 019

I won’t mention the car brakes, the chip on the car windscreen, the tumble dryer and the central heating boiler that leaked. Let’s just say that sometimes life can be a trifle difficult.

So what happened with my 16 for 2016?

16 swims-I went swimming four times in January, I started by managing 16 lengths and on the last visit swam 20.

15minutesx 2x 5 days a week walking- I’ll call that a project in progress. Hard to walk when you are in a car etc, but we did manage a stroll round the park where we stayed and these snowdrops brightened our day.

snowdrops Jan 2016 013

14 lbs lost- amazingly 4, since all I did was swim and walk a bit.

13 outings- none

12 cookery posts- I will be honest here I thought I would do one a month,but when I looked at what I wanted to write about realized that it wouldn’t work. Still have plans for 12 but I will have to do some more cooking first!

11 pictures of flowers-none

10 handmade cards- yes , one for Valentine’s Day

9 garden posts- first one due in February

8 stash/kit busting projects- Flower Fairies cross stitch  in progress

7 sewing/embroidery projects- none

6 acts of kindness- none, I didn’t even manage the garden bird count this year. But Innocent smoothie hats are now in the supermarkets.

5 Non Fiction reads.

snowdrops Jan 2016 017

Loving this book

4 Improve knitting and crochet skills, cable jacket underway

3 Bucket list makes. The cheese souffle has been made, but the first one was decapitated getting it out of the oven. DOH!

2 railway journey and 1 bus journey- none yet

0 magazine purchases-None bought in January!

Hope to have more going on in February, and if you would like to leave a link to your 2016 goal progress posts, please feel free to put it in the comments box.

 

 

 

Comments on: "16 for 2016- January!" (32)

  1. Great start. I too have begun swimming – I am going twice a week and so far have managed six sessions. As an incentive I have bought an annual pass, which means I need to go at least 56 times in the year to make it cost-effective…. so far so good.

    • I have a three month pass and have to go 18 times by the end of March, by which time I hope it will be a habit! You are doing brilliantly 6 times so far!

    • I have bought a year’s membership too, a good way to motivate. I have to go 46 times to cover the membership cost. I’m impressed with your 6 times so far.

      • I’m impressed too… I did wonder whether I’d manage to be that motivated! Actually the main problem was getting suitable swimwear – I no longer fitted into my old gear (that was from about 2 stones ago!!) and it took a while to identify something that covered up enough of me to be happy to wear in public!!

      • I know what you mean about the cozzie. I had the same problem. Even more impressed that you go at 7am. You are made of stronger stuff than me! Fantastic! I bet it really sets you up for the day.

      • It does… although if I swim too far, I’m shattered for the rest of the day! I have discovered 1 to 1.25km is fine, a mile and I’m wiped out.

  2. Sorry to hear you have had such a challenging start to your year Cathy. Glad that things are working out now. Taking all that into consideration, it looks to me like you have made a good start, it is only for January. And you are keeping a sense of humour about it all – not easy!
    Here is my link

    https://daffodilwild.wordpress.com/2016/01/30/16-for16-update/

    I think there are 4 of us joining in at the moment – fun!

    • It’s lovely that we can support each other with our goals! At the beginning so much is work in progress and then whoosh goals are achieved. The adrenaline has left me today and I feel shattered but am determined to go swimming at lunch time.

  3. So sorry to hear that you have had so many troubles lately. But glad to see that at least the pot holes look to be over!

    • They turned up yesterday afternoon just after I took the picture and put in more hard-core. We are on clay soil and the road doesn’t have the same foundations as a regular road, so I think it will keep sinking in!
      Life sometimes is a pain, it’s just been one thing after another for over 7 years now!
      I have learned to take things a day at a time. Thank goodness wool I say!

  4. Good for you. Hope the swimming helps.

  5. Ha! I’d totally fail at that last one. Sounds like January was an even longer month than normal for you 😦 I think all those journeys and support def. count as kindness though, so don’t be too hard on yourself. Sometimes life just totally gets in the way…

    • I have shelves of magazines full of projects I think I want to make, I have to have stern words with myself not to buy more!
      Family is family, I couldn’t not go to help when you can hear the anguish in a voice.
      Thanks so much for your words, they mean a lot to me.

  6. Despite the rocky January, you’ve gotten a lot checked off the list already. Hope things calm down around you.

  7. I’m pleased for you that the whole pothole saga is being sorted at last, what a long drawn out affair that has been. Good progress on your goals, too. I’m afraid magazines are my downfall and I love curling up on the sofa with one when I get five minutes. ‘Voices from the Workhouse’ sounds like it’s right up my street and I’m going to look it up now:)

    • The book is very interesting and easy to read. One I can put down and pick up in odd moments. One of the holes got a layer of tarmac this afternoon!

  8. I love this idea! You have done great, especially with all that has been going on! I hope things settle down for you in Feb. x

  9. So glad for you that your family hospital scare turned out to be not so scary as it could have been! It’s only since I’ve lived in France that I’ve realised how many potholes there seem to be on English roads. My Mother is always complaining about them. On the plus side, I see you didn’t mention the M25 – the bane of my former life.

    • The M25 to be avoided if at all possible. I am quite familiar with that one too. We have a private road so all residents had to agree to the repairs. Think I first spoke to my neighbour about it in September!

  10. Glad that things are looking up. I have to say, I think you’re doing fabulous on your list. It’s quite impressive that you are even giving us the details. Not sure I would have that much courage. Keep on going! I think you’re off to a really good start.

  11. I’m impressed with all that you have achieved with your goals given the energies you have poured into family problems – well done! Family always come first and at the end of the day are far more important than anything else – even damaged lane problems! And I write as one who knows – our farm track lane has been impassable much of January. Hopefully improvements on the way for us – and you. Hope February is a calmer and more productive month.

    • I hope your farm track is sorted soon. We now have the first layer of tarmac down, and the road is passable again. Let’s hope we all have a great February!

  12. But you did take a photo of flowers–the snowdrops! So that’s one more thing you can add to your list–seems to me you’re doing very well, in spite of everything.

    • Ah thanks, but I am hoping to take a better picture of snowdrops this month if we get to go on an outing I have in mind! You weren’t allowed to get close up to these snowdrops and I would like to try a close up of the snowdrop.

  13. Sorry to hear you’ve had so many bumps in the road this week – figuratively and literally. I think there’s been something in the air – it doesn’t seem to have gone well for a lot of people. Well done on the goals you’ve a achieved. Plenty of year left to get the rest in 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

