Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Sunday Sevens on Monday

Once again linking with Natalie at Threads and Bobbins to share 7 pictures from my week.

Sunday 10 January was grotty till fairly late on in the day, just in time for a pretty sunset, hopefully an end to all the rain.

13.1.16 001

But not before I had discovered that my old wellies had sprung a leak, cue new wellie shopping on Tuesday

17.1.16 004

and some hyacinths to brighten up the house. Bit of a blue theme this week.

13.1.16 004

On Thursday the weather did this

17.1.16 001

YUK! Time for a hunkering down day!

Last week I nearly shared a really boring picture of my thank you letters ready to post. I was all set to say that I am sad that people can’t be bothered to write thank you letters anymore, but it came out all wrong. So I didn’t. Then on Friday this came in the post for me.

17.1.16 011

Now I knitted some hats for the Innocent Age UK campaign last year, and wrote on my blog that I wondered if I was totally wasting my time because each hat equaled only a 25p donation to Age UK, and I could have saved myself the effort and just donated the cash myself. Well everyone was wonderfully reassuring that it totally was worth the effort. Inside this card I am told that 800,000 hats were received meaning a donation of Ā£200,000 to Age UK. You were so right,that is a sum worth having.

Inside the card was a handwritten note addressed Dear Cathy and thanking me, it was surrounded by Kisses.

Net result, I shall knit hats for the 2016 campaign. The power of saying Thank You. I rest my case.

Meantime look out for be-hatted Smoothies in February

Anyone remember our Pot Hole Saga? And the bruhaha to get our (private)road fixed? Well the pothole should be fixed on Thursday coming. But in the meantime , a sub plot has developed. To be known asĀ  Ditchgate. The theory of some of our roads residents is that the pothole was called by a ditch which is on the school side of our road, that has not been Dredged, which means the water comes off the field reaches the undredged ditch, can’t go anywhere and instead comes down our road and causes a pothole.

17.1.16 010

 

You can see how full it looks thanks to the fact that the water in there froze on Saturday.

So there has been a flurry of letters and people staring at the ditch all week, the Town Clerk, the Head Teacher and the Chair of the School Governors. Emails have been sent!!

This is set to run for some time my friends.

Last photo of the week. I planted some bulbs in the Autumn under a tree in the grass. Whoopee, they are appearing, you may have to look carefully, but undoubtedly they are coming up. Spring is just round the corner.

17.1.16 005

Hoping you all have a wonderful week.

Comments on: "Sunday Sevens on Monday" (26)

  1. Beautiful sunset, it’s like magic when they’re caught on a photo! Looking forward to seeing the accessories on the innocent drinks. Will buy one if I see one, wonder if it’ll be one of your!? šŸ˜ƒ

  2. You had some snow !! We just had cold drizzle šŸ˜¦

  3. So the saga of the pothole continues? Not for too much longer, I hope. If the ditch isn’t sorted out too, looks like you’ll be needing your brand spanking new wellies just to get out of the house!! Thank you letters are so important but it’s no comfort to The Boys when they are made to sit down and do theirs!!

    • Well done your boys writing their thank you letters. My sons always had to write theirs but what a fuss, they like the presents but not the letters! Adults are just as bad though, I wonder if they know how downright rude and ungrateful they seem? I am quite happy with texts and emails, but a letter has the edge.

  4. I especially like the first picture.

  5. Gorgeous pics. Winter is finally putting in an appearance šŸ™‚

  6. Looks like good knitting weather! Brrr and wet!

  7. Great photos! I love all the snowy roofs, but not the pothole situation. Blue wellies!! They are just so bright and cheery on a white snowy day – and hard to lose in the closet. šŸ˜‰

  8. Gorgeous sunset photo! What a shame about the ditch! Good news that the pothole is finally getting done though šŸ™‚ I’m a big fan of thank you letters and written mail in general – I really think it’s something that will be forgotten about if we don’t make the effort to write! I absolutely love sending mail and writing to pen friends šŸ˜€

  9. Glad they sent you a thank you card. A nice touch from a big company, looking forward to seeing the hats on the shelves šŸ™‚

    • I was flabbergasted to receive it, especially as a real person had written to me, and those kisses all round it, well it just made me want to knit again this year.

  10. Great photos. Glad the little hats garnered a lovely thank you. Cash is nice but the effort of your hands can’t be replaced. What a pretty card. I love winter and will miss it greatly. Love your new Wellies.

  11. There is nothing like the smell of blooming hyacinths to give you hope that spring will eventually arrive.

  12. So as potholegate becomes ditchgate, I bet you’re pleased you have new wellies šŸ˜‰

  13. Those hyacinth caught my eye…to bad not scratch and sniff! šŸ˜‰

  14. Ooh lovely blue hyacinths & wellies! Your sunset photo’s lovely too through the branches of the trees šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

