Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

SAL- January 2016

New Year and a new project for the SAL. I am stitching a kit I have had for a while. It’s Flower Fairies- Geranium

17.1.16 008

The kit is by DMC. First task was to sort the threads. Now some people love this first stage, I really dislike it. Trying to figure out lightest yellow green from pale yellow and palest green. AAgh! Doing it in the evening is not a good idea. This stage really does need daylight, and in this instance I needed to reference my two boxes of DMC threads to marry up just which thread was which. But everyhting was sorted in the end, so

Let the stitching begin..

17.1.16 009

A small beginning. It’s on 16 count Aida, which I find harder to stitch than 14 count, more holes per inch. I have also found I can only stitch this in daylight. Once the curtains are drawn, even with my stalwart light over my left shoulder, I just can’t get the stitches as neat as I like. Progress will be slow till we get longer afternoons. However I have noticed that the days are getting longer, It’s 4.30 now before its getting dark, at Christmas I was closing the curtains at 3.45. Spring is on its way, says she with a dusting of snow in the garden as she types!

Ever the optimist.

Joining with the following amazing group of fellow stitchers.

Kate-talltalesfromchiconia.wordpress.com

Avis at http://sewingbesidethesea.wordpress.com

Claire at http://claire93.wordpress.com

Gun at http://rutigt.wordpress.com

Carole at http://aslightobsessionwithbooks.wordpress.com

Jule at http://fromtheboudoir.wordpress.com

Wendy at http://thecraftersapprentice.blogspot.co.uk

Lucy at https://lucyannluna.wordpress.com

Jacqui at http://thestitchingline.com

Jess at https://everthecrafter.wordpress.co

Do stop by their blogs, there are some gorgeous projects going on.

Comments on: "SAL- January 2016" (30)

  1. That is such a pretty design. Great start on it too. I know what you mean about having to sort threads. I love the companies that provide the threads ready sorted onto a card 🙂

  2. I’ve always loved the Flower Fairy pictures. They are tiny stitches though. Quite challenging!

  3. It’s lovely! That whole business with sorting the yarn drives me loopy, and I suspect is the reason behind my love for monochromatic sampler style projects! When I finish the latest, I really must get back to ANZAC for the Husband. Lots of different yarns of nearly the same colour 😦

    • Glad it’s not just me that dislikes the sorting stage. This one was particularly hard. I had made lots of mistakes and really did need my two boxes of DMC threads to get me on the right track.

  4. claire93 said:

    an excellent start ^^

  5. kathrynrubidoux said:

    How sweet! We’ll be sisters in stitching geraniums.

  6. I’m a prolific sorter. Send them my way for light entertainment 🙂 I’m so pleased you have chosen another kit you’ve had for a while. You’ll get to the bottom of the box eventually 😉

  7. Good luck with this new project 🙂 I’ve got two DMC kits that came with sorted threads and two from another manufacturer with two different ‘knots’ which needed sorting and I only had to find out which one is ‘knot 1’ and which one is ‘knot 2’. The fun never ends 😉

  8. Pretty. I agree, fine cross stitch needs daylight.

  9. My goodness, dark at 3.45! I didn’t think anyone got dark earlier than here in Ireland at 4. Days are longer now, dark after 5. I find I can’t sew much in the evening with artificial light, never mind cross stitch. Those stitches are so teenie, you can hardly see the X in the close up shot. Have fun with it!

  10. What a lovely design, I love the flower fairies. x

  11. Very nice. I always wish I would have started needlepoint when I had younger eyes.

  12. What a lovely embroidery!!!! I agree with you, daylight it must be. I really can´t see the stitches otherwise 🙂 I´m also waiting for spring to show up, but I guess I have to wait another three month……..patience, patience!

  13. Great Post thank you for stopping by my blog today. Blessings Always, Mtetar

  14. I just don’t know why they can’t be packaged on a thread sorter with the key codes next to the colours. It would save such a lot of time!
    Looking forward to seeing this grow.

    • I know they go all the trouble of naming the threads, cutting them and telling you how much of each you have got and provide a card to put them on, why not go the full hog?

  15. Very pretty, i do so love the flower fairies too! 🙂 (I would be lost without my daylight lamp, it’s often too hot here by the windows or outside so it is the next best thing :))

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

