Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Sunday Sevens!

We began the week with a trip to Harrogate. In particular here.

7.11.15 004

Now I really really wanted to go here as I knew they stocked some fabric which I NEEDED. Oh my what a wonderful shop, absolutely stocked to the rafters on two floors with so much lovely, lovely fabric.

7.11.15 007

Michael Miller Dawn fairies fabric. I am going to try to make a dress for Miss F next year. But I also needed this fabric.

7.11.15 008

Which will be something for Ms J, maybe for Christmas if I get my skates on. Details of the shop here They do mail order but I wanted to see the fabric for myself before buying. It is good quality. And if that wasn’t enough opposite this shop was a wool shop and just up the street a sewing machine shop, and two tearooms, and street parking. Bliss!

And so to Saturday when we had to go to York, I didn’t have long here, but there was time to go the Viking Loom, a favourite sewing shop, where I picked up a couple of Christmas presents and some bits and bobs, as you do. But a bit of time to take some pictures to share.

7.11.15 018

One of the city gates, known as Bars in York.

7.11.15 019

York Minster.

7.11.15 021

And most apt for this week the site where

7.11.15 020

Guy Fawkes was born. For readers not in the UK, we celebrate Guy Fawkes day on 5 November,which was the day the Plot to blow up Parliament and the King was thwarted.

Linking with Natalie for Sunday Sevens

Comments on: "Sunday Sevens!" (28)

  1. I’ve never been to Harrogate or York and really should make the effort to get up there as I know they are beautiful cities. The Remnant House look great and I shall hop over to the website right now:)

  2. Thank you for sharing Cathy. I felt like I was there with you. Hugs, Tamara

  3. Fabric, wool and sewing in one street – sounds like heaven! πŸ™‚

  4. I’ve always loved York, but never been to Harrogate. I’m now very, very tempted to visit πŸ™‚

  5. I love Harrogate! York always seems too busy. Mind I haven’t been to either for years 😦

  6. Ooh that fabric shop looks wonderful! πŸ™‚

  7. Oh what a glorious day, what with fabric, wool and tea! Love these photos.

  8. Harrogate sounds like a great place to be if you like sewing! Love the Walking Dead fabric and you’ve actually given me a Christmas idea πŸ™‚

  9. It sounds like you could spend most of a day on that one street in Harrogate. What fun!

  10. I love York but have never been to Harrogate – must add it to the list, thanks for a great post!

  11. What a wonderful street to find shops with all the fun, crafty stuff! Love the fairy fabric and the Walking Dead fabric is awesome!

  12. My in-laws live in Harrogate. Finally, a good reason for visiting them πŸ˜‰

  13. We have visited Harrogate a couple of times and the Autumn show. Both were very enjoyable visits.

  14. […] patchwork quilt for a young man in my life as well as fabric for other projects and on reading a Sunday sevens post from fellow blogger Nana Cathy some weeks ago about her trip to a wonderful looking fabric […]

  15. […] them!  The Transport for London inspired material came into my possession after reading  Nana Cathy’s blog post about The Remnant House (a great fabric shop in York). I had a look at their website and […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

