Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Hearts and buttons!

I rewrote one of my 15 for 2015 ideas, so that “attend three craft workshops” became “do my own craft workshops”. Last year I attended a Christmas workshop in which the tutor simply gave us the instructions from a magazine, demonstrated what to do and off we went. So for my first craft workshop at home, I did the same. Took an idea from a 2010 Women’s Weekly magazine and made these.

hearts and buttons 002

Christmas decorations which I think might work just as well as Valentine Day decorations. Hearts are about  9cms at the widest point, sew on a selection of buttons, sew two heart shapes together with blanket stitch adding stuffing and a ribbon at the top as you go. Time taken, 2-3 hours, one craft workshop at home.

Comments on: "Hearts and buttons!" (15)

  1. I love these!!! So pretty 🙂

  2. Fantastic, and your stitches are so even! You may consider yourself having led a workshop because I think I will steal this idea. 🙂

  3. They are very jolly.

  4. Super cute! I am a sucker for hearts 🙂 ❤️

  5. Cute! Anything that uses up some of my button mountain would be good.

  6. Lovely and you’ve saved money too! You could always invite a friend round next time to make it feel more like a workshop:)

  7. I love those. Might have to try them myself. Have plenty of buttons. :)) Thanks for the workshop. 🙂

  8. Good for you. And shame on the woman who just handed stuff outlast year.

  9. Very cute and easy to adapt to other shapes too! What a cheek the instructor had, you could have borrowed the magazine from the library and saved yourself some money!

  10. There’s something extra satisfying that comes from just doing the project yourself, without paying someone else to “teach” you something! Your ornaments are charming!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

