Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Sew Along -October 25th

THANK YOU FELLOW SEW ALONGERS AND BLOGGERS! I have only gone and finished the birth sampler for my grandson.  I started it in 2009 intending to have it ready for his first birthday. But my husband had major health problems and it didn’t happen, even after Mr E got better. Each January since then I got the sampler out, added some more stitches and put it away again. But in May, 2015,  I was inspired to join in the SAL. Best decision I could have made with this project. So a big thank you for your encouragement and support.

23.10.15 004

I completed the hedge at the bottom, and added his name and DOB to the middle, which I can’t share , sorry, sign of the times, and stitched the remaining grasses to all the little creatures.

23.10.15 005

So it’s now gone to the picture framers, and I will show it in its final glory, maybe not next time but certainly in six weeks time.

What next? Sorting out some magazines I came across one of those half finished free gifts, magazine dated 2000.

23.10.15 006

and finished two napkin rings

23.10.15 007

Then I found this which was a Christmas gift to me a few years ago and not yet started, so this is what I am doing now whilst I figure out which big project to tackle next, and, believe me I have a very good selection of non started cross projects given to me over the years to choose from!

23.10.15 009

Please have a look at the others taking part in the SAL.

Kate-talltalesfromchiconia.wordpress.com

Avis at http://sewingbesidethesea.wordpress.com

Claire at http://claire93.wordpress.com

Gun at http://rutigt.wordpress.com

Carole at http://aslightobsessionwithbooks.wordpress.com

Jule at http://fromtheboudoir.wordpress.com

Wendy at http://thecraftersapprentice.blogspot.co.uk

Lucy at https://lucyannluna.wordpress.com

Jacqui at http://thestitchingline.com

Jess at https://everthecrafter.wordpress.co

The Sampler is based on the books Percy the Park Keeper by Nick Butterworth, designed by Adele Welsby.

 

 

Comments on: "Sew Along -October 25th" (36)

  1. Well done!!! Congratulations! it is such a wonderful feeling to finish a piece of work that has been started many months or even years ago – (I have quite a few too). The sampler is delightful and made with love – a real heirloom!

  2. claire93 said:

    well done Cathy ! a big pat on the back for you ^^ that birth sampler is lovely and it doesn’t matter it was a few years late.
    Look forward to seeing you work a few more projects – that Mediaval Garden needle case looks like a prefect design.

  3. Oh, good work! That must feel really good, and he gets his sampler at last. I rather like that little needlecase project, and the best thing about it is that it will be useful as well as pretty.

  4. Well done it looks fantastic

  5. What a great feeling to have finished! Every time you showed your progress on this, the little animals on the sampler made me smile!

  6. Congratulations on a lovely finish. I really like the little man clipping the hedge at the bottom. His face is perfect. Can’t wait to see your next bigger project 🙂

  7. Wow! finished. It does look lovely and I especially like the topiary added to the hedge. I even did a tiny bit of cross stitch on Friday, not that i’d ever attempt something as involved as your sampler. Well done!

  8. Aw cute! I love Percy the Park keeper 🙂 Whenever I see him, I remember being at college studying. I made Percy the Park keeper finger puppets for one of my ‘childrens learning and play’ assignments to use in school. I love this! Super talented 🙂

    • Finger puppets how lovely. Although the stories are still in print I have only found them on the Internet, which is a shame as they are timeless.

  9. taurielgreenleaf said:

    Congrats on finishing! I’t looks lovely – well worth all the hard work, be lovely to see it framed too 🙂

  10. Yey! You have a super finished project 🙂 What a lucky boy! Does he know he is getting it?I’m looking forward to seeing what you choose to make next. I love starting new projects.

    • I don’t think he knows about it, but I did teach him how to cross stitch so I may have mentioned it a couple of years ago. I lloked at my project pile yesterday I have 12 possibles. Yikes!

  11. Congratulations on finishing your UFOs – feeling very satisfied for you 🙂

  12. Super Grandma. That is love. Pure and simple.

  13. Lovely little sampler, can’t wait to see it framed!

  14. I love the green hedges! Well done finishing the embroidery! And good luck with the new ones!

  15. Well done on finishing! Love those napkin rings too. Some Christmas one would be lovely.

  16. Wahay, good on you for getting so much completed, especially the sampler at last!

  17. Christina said:

    Love that SAL cross stitch so much! The final hedging details turned out so well. What is the name of the pattern?

  18. The critters are all so cute! Congrats on your finish.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

