Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Sunday Sevens

Home again after my jaunt “down South”. Mr E was so pleased to see me home again I had these waiting for me, oh and a very nice chilli.

arboretium 2015 008

Found this in the flower bed, planted no doubt by a bird.

arboretium 2015 006

We gave up on the tomatoes in the greenhouse which were just green, so I made some Green Tomato chutney

arboretium 2015 007

Which shamed the tomatoes , so next thing I knew I had these

arboretium 2015 009

I caught up on Downton Abbey and the Bake Off, and was inspired to make some stem ginger cookies, the recipe said treacle, so I used black treacle, but I suspect the recipe writer meant golden syrup, as the result is a bit dark, but still tasty.

16.10.15 006

Yesterday we went to Ripon. We visited the workhouse museum which deserves a post if its own. Whilst waiting for the museum to open we visited the Cathedral.

ripon 2015 003

Mr E bought me this

ripon 2015 024

A Malteser reindeer, which was very nice. However the reason for including the wrapper here is because on the back of the wrapper I notice it said ” No actual Maltesers were hurt during the making of this reindeer”. Which made me smile. And you can’t say no to a smile!

Linking with Natalie at Threads and Bobbins for Sunday Sevens

 

Comments on: "Sunday Sevens" (17)

  1. The Malteser comment made me smile too! Stem ginger cookies sound yummy. I love gingery foods.

  2. Sounds like a lovely week, and always nice to know you’ve been missed, especially via flowers 🙂

  3. Ha ha – you’ll have to try that next year with your tomatoes, contrary things! We had a big lunch in the village hall so didn’t have supper, but now I’m feeling peckish looking at all this food. The chutney looks delicious:)

  4. Your tomatoes & maltese reindeer made me laugh this week! What lovely flowers to have, even the stray flower 🙂

  5. Cathy, could you email your details to me for the #stitchingsanta please so I can add you to the ‘official’ list? info@sewchet.com

  6. The reindeer wrapper was great! And I’m inspired to make, or find, some stem ginger cookies – they are so delicious! Lovely pictures, as always.

  7. What a nice husband. My own husband gifts me flowers once every other year or so…always makes me suspicious and causes me to wonder what he did wrong that he feels guilty about…

  8. Reading you blog always brings a smile , thanks for sharing your lovely week 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

