Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Why I blog.

This lovely award has come to me courtesy of Postcard from Gibralter. Thank you so much I feel very honoured.

Next step is to say why I began blogging, which is easy, I needed to prove to myself that I could do something way out of my comfort zone and figuring out how to blog, sure did that.

More interesting, to me at least,  is why I blog three years on from those first tentative posts. (Most of those early ones have been deleted now as I keep filling up my free space on the blog and the only thing to do is to delete something). So why do I blog now.

Top of my reasons has to be friendship. I have “met” so many other bloggers whose interests and lives I have shared through theirs and my posts, that I can’t imagine not being on touch now.

Then there is the encouragement I have enjoyed , I don’t for one second think I would be within finishing distance of completing the birth sampler for Master H ( he is 7 remember now) were it not for the SAL. Nor would I have ever made the country garden blanket without the CAL I joined  three years ago.

And how about challenges? The photo challenge makes me think about words , their meanings, how I can interpret them into pictures,what makes a good picture and what doesn’t.

And let’s not forget fun. Blogging is fun, joining in with Sunday Sevens sharing and reading the funny things in life. And sharing, that’s important too, when times have been hard bloggers have given me such support and strength at  times when I really needed it. 2014/2015 was such a hard time for me and my family. But above all I just plain enjoy blogging. I wonder why does everyone else blog, do any of my reasons apply?

Now I am supposed to nominate 15 other bloggers for this award. However I find this part too hard, how could I possibly choose just 15, so please just consider your self nominated , I am so happy that you are all part of the blogosphere. And do please check out postcardfromgibraltar.

Comments on: "Why I blog." (9)

  1. Thanks for all your encouragement Nana Cathy! The nomination was well deserved. Thanks to you I shall be posting my first Sunday Sevens tomorrow! 🙂

  2. Congrats to you! Your blog is always enjoyable and full of variety. 🙂

  3. Congratulations! What great example of how much you can gain by pushing yourself out of your comfort zone!

  4. Congratulations on the award. Surprised you started because it was outside your comfort zone. I always enjoy your posts.

  5. Congrats on the award. I stopped accepting them because I had to find a lot of people to nominate and figure out how to put them in the side bar. It got too technical for me so I just keep reading other blogs. Your reasons were all some that apply to me as well. I also like your rebellious change of the rules. 🙂 Challenges are good for us. Blogging grows us and our community.

  6. Congratulations! And thanks for sharing the behind the scenes look at why you blog.

  7. I have so enjoyed discovering so many awesome knitting blogs (and knitters…and the women behind them all) since I started my own blog at the beginning of the year. Such an addictive treat!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

